Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Art and Antiques

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

 

Databases

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.  Titles include American Art, American Craft, Antique Trader Weekly, Art Business News, Art History, Art in America, Arts & Activities, The Art Bulletin, and Treasures: Antique to Modern Collecting, Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.   Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, etc.  There are articles from American Artist, Antiques & Collecting MagazineArchitectural Digest, Arts & Activities, Art Education, Journal of Arts Management, Magazine AntiquesPopular Photography, and more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.   Virtual Tour

 

Websites

Antiques Roadshow
Watch the PBS show online (search through the archives for previous shows), review a glossary of terms, learn tips of the trade, review the appraisers' reference library and read through a teacher's guide.

Artcyclopedia
A comprehensive index to over 7,000 different artists represented in museum sites, image archives and other resources; can search by artist's name, title of work or by museum; many searches include articles written about the artist; art museums worldwide.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History 
A global art history timeline featuring over 7,000 works from the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Khan Academy: Art History
Free online lessons for students with sections featuring the art from Ancient Cultures, the Medieval Era, the Renaissance, the Industrial Revolution, Post-Colonialism and more.

Kovels
Register with the site for free online price guides, directories, and events related to antiques & collectibles.

 

Community and Local Links 

Albright-Knox Art Gallery
Find exhibit, education and library information for the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo's internationally renowned gallery for modern and contemporary art.

Allentown Art Festival
Thousands of art patrons visit the Festival to enjoy the beauty of Buffalo's weather in June, the charm and uniqueness of the Allentown area and the quality of the art and crafts presented by the over 400 juried exhibitors.

Antique World
WNY's Largest Antique & Flea Market, containing a calendar of events and co-op that's open year round.

Arts Services Initiative of Western New York 
A local council that supports the WNY fine arts sector through professional development, employment opportunities, free or low-cost event access, and other services. 

Buffalo Arts Studio
Buffalo Arts Studio (BAS) is a not-for-profit arts organization whose mission is to provide affordable studio space and regular public exposure for regional, national, and international artists through exhibitions, and to enrich the community with art classes, mural programs, and public art.

Buffalo Center for Arts and Technology
Inspires excellence and creativity and offers a culture of hope and purpose that transforms the lives of adults and high-school students.

Burchfield Penney Art Center
Website for The Burchfield Penney Art Center, dedicated to the art and vision of Charles Burchfield and distinguished artists of Buffalo and Western New York. 

Carnegie Art Center
Carnegie Art Center is a catalyst for cultural, economic and community development. A multi-disciplinary arts space, it challenges the community with exhibitions of contemporary art, engages children and adults with vibrant art and dance classes, develops professional workshops for artists and organizations, and supports regional cultural tourism efforts. 

CEPA Gallery
CEPA is a not-for-profit arts center founded in 1974 as a resource for photographic creation, education, and presentation. CEPA provides a context for understanding the aesthetic, cultural, and political intersections of photo-related art as it is produced in our diverse society. The gallery supports, encourages, and funds the projects of both established and emergent visual artists, and is committed to supporting artists from groups that have been traditionally underrepresented in cultural spaces.

El Museo
Presents professionally curated exhibitions of contemporary fine art of emerging, mid-career, and established regional, national, and international artists of color who make a unique contribution to the visual arts through their sculptures, photographs, paintings, and installations. 

Elmwood Avenue Festival of the Arts
Information on this popular WNY festival where regional artists; musicians; crafts people and community organizations get together to present their work and foster education of the arts.

First Friday Gallery Walk
Allentown art galleries, performance artists, musicians, restaurants, retailers, and more, come together to create a rich cultural attraction.

Hallwalls Contemporary Arts Center
Multi-disciplinary arts center in Buffalo, NY which for over 20 years has presented contemporary art to audiences in the Western New York region.

Niagara Arts & Cultural Center
The NACC is a home for the arts, and is filled with art and artists involved in the visual, performing and literary arts.

Squeaky Wheel
Squeaky Wheel Film & Media Art Center has a mission to continue a legacy of innovation in media arts through access, education, and exhibition. They envision a community that uses electronic media and film to celebrate freedom of expression and diversity of voice.

UB Art Galleries
The University at Buffalo provides students and the community year-round exhibitions that feature local and visiting artists.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog. 

Ancient Art
Antiques and Collectibles
Modern Art
Painting
Renaissance Art
Sculpture

Category-Term: