Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Biography

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Mount Rushmore

Databases

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.  Virtual Tour

History Reference Center
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos. Virtual Tour

Britannica Academic
Britannica Academic combines the Encyclopedia Britannica with Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.  Articles are written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other experts.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

Biography Channel
Search detailed description or account of someone's life and times. Search over 25,000 of the greatest lives, past and present. Watch interviews and video clips at Biography.com. Check out the Born On This Day, Deathiversary, and Black History sections.  

 

Community and Local Links 

Biographical Resources for Buffalo and Erie County
This document is a selected list of biographical resources of prominent men and women involved with Buffalo and Western New York. Their professions include but are not limited to ship captains, engineers, ship owners, shipbuilders, merchants, and engine builders. Birth, death, and marriage information is often given along with professional details. Nearly everything listed here can be found in the Grosvenor Room (GRO). Material in the Grosvenor Room does not circulate and cannot be removed from the room. In a few cases, there are duplicate copies of these books that can be borrowed from the Humanities & Social Sciences (HSS) Department.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Biography & Autobiography
Biography Writing

Category-Term: