Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Biology

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover".  Biology articles can be found in Mother Earth NewsPopular ScienceScience IllustratedScience NewsSlate (USA), and The New Republic Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

Science in Context
For those seeking information on today's most significant science topics.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

BiologyBrowser
Produced by Thomson Reuters, BiologyBrowser offers access to evaluated and curated digital resources of interest to the scientific researcher.

GeneEd
Features sections on cell biology, biotechnology, biostatistics, labs & experiments, etc.

Khan Academy: Biology
Join a global classroom online and take free lessons. All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years.

MarineBio
Learn about marine species, ocean conservation, biodiversity, global warming, and much more.

PLoS Biology
PLoS Biology is an open-access, peer-reviewed journal that features works of exceptional significance in all areas of biological science. 

PubMed Central
Digital repository that archives publicly accessible full-text scholarly articles that have been published within the biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Scientific American - Biology
Find the latest biology news, research, and developments.

Science Daily - Biology News
Research news in all fields of biology including biotechnologycell biologydevelopmental biologymarine biologymicrobiologymolecular biologybotany and zoology.

U.S. Geological Survey - Ecosystems
Federal source for science about the Earth, its natural and living resources, natural hazards, and the environment.  Provides scientific understanding and technologies needed to support the sound management and conservation of our Nation's biological resources.

Visible Proofs: Forensic Views of the Body
Explore significant cases, technologies, and people that have had an impact on the history of forensic medicine. Take an in-depth look at artifacts and images from the exhibition.

 

Community and Local Links

Aquarium of Niagara
Dive into an ocean of discovery at Niagara's other water wonder! Highlights include California sea lion demonstrations, harbor seals, and a colony of Peruvian penguins. Over 40 aquatic exhibits.

Buffalo & Erie County Botanical Gardens
Features a glass conservatory designed by Frederick Law Olmsted with tropical and desert gardens, an arboretum and pinetum, shrub garden, and bog garden.

Buffalo Museum of Science
Dedicated to the study and interpretation of the natural and physical sciences, the Buffalo Museum of Science's extensive collections and artifacts represent all facets of the natural world with an emphasis on Western New York as well as man-made objects spanning the globe. Anchoring Buffalo's East Side in Olmsted-designed Martin Luther King, Jr. Park since 1929, the museum presents a wide variety of programs and services for children, teachers, families, adults and community organizations throughout the year.

Buffalo Zoo
The perfect place for unique family fun all year long! It's the only place in town to observe a wide variety of exotic and domestic animals in naturalistic habitats, including the zoo's M&T Bank Rainforest Falls exhibit.

Department of Biological Sciences - University at Buffalo
Comprehensive center of cutting edge research and teaching, the Department of Biological Sciences at the University at Buffalo is a vital hub of biological research and learning activity.
 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Anatomy
Biology
Biology Study Guides
Botany
Ecology
Human Biology
Marine Biology
Microbiology