Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Bullying Prevention

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

MedlinePlus.Gov -Bullying topic overview

You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Look for "Browse Topics" Choose "Bullying" to find an overview and access to reference works, statistics, articles and video clips. Updated regularly.   Virtual Tour 

 

Websites

Bully Beware
Games and antibully tips for kids from the CDC Body and Mind pages

Bully Police USA
Advocacy site with information on state anti-bullying laws.

Cyberbullying Research Center
Provides up-to-date information about the nature, extent, causes, and consequences of cyberbullying among adolescents. 

GLSEN Gay Lesbian & Straight Education Network
GLSEN provides resources and support for schools to implement effective and age-appropriate anti-bullying programs to improve school climate for all students.

Stop Bullying.gov
Comprehensive website for bullying awareness, prevention and intervention.

To Be a Teacher

Preventing bullying and cyberbullying: a guide for students, educators and school administrators. 

Definitions, background information and practical steps in a format that is easy to understand and implement.

Understanding Bullying and Cyberbullying

Includes an overview of the problem, who is effected, signs to lookout for and what you can do. Part of a larger website, onlineschools.org which is focused on quality learning online.

Evidence-based Programs 

Alberti Center for Bullying Abuse Prevention
Part of the University at Buffalo Graduate School of education, the Alberti Center provides evidence-based strategies to assist educators, parents, students and the greater society.

Blueprints for Violence Prevention- University of Colorado 
A source for evidence-based prevention and intervention programs that are effective in reducing antisocial behavior and promoting a healthy course of youth development.

OJJDP Model Programs Guide - Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Research, funding, legislation, topic resources. Find it all on this comprehensive website. 

 

Community and Local Links

B&ECPL’s Western New York Partners in Bullying Stops Here, an awareness campaign taking place throughout WNY every October.

Boys & Girls Clubs of Buffalo
www.bgcbuffalo.org (716) 825-1016  

Character Council of WNY
charactercouncilwny.org (716) 202-0702 

Child & Adolescent Treatment Services – WNY
www.mentalhealthforwnykids.org (716) 819-3420 

Erie County Office of the Disabled
www.erie.gov/ecod  (716) 858-6215

Erie County Sheriff’s Department
www2.erie.gov/sheriff   Ask for Domestic Violence Unit (716) 858-6305

Gay & Lesbian Youth Services
www.glyswny.org (716) 855-0221 

Family Justice Center of WNY 
www.fjcsafe.org (716) 558-7233 

National Federation of Just Communities 
www.nfjcwny.org (716) 853-9596 

Parent Network of WNY 
www.parentnetworkwny.org (716) 332-4175 

Parents & Friends of Lesbians & Gays of Buffalo (PFLAG) 
www.pflagbuffalo.org (716) 883-0384 

People Inc.
www.people-inc.org (716) 817-7400 

Self-Advocacy Association of NYS-Western Region
www.sanys.org (716) 517-3598 

WNY Independent Living Center
www.wnyil.org (716) 836-0822 

WNY Peace Center
www.wnypeace.org (716) 332-3904 

Other Community Resources 

Catholic Charities
Provides emergency assistance, counseling, behavioral health, youth education, and numerous other services.

Every Person Influences Children (EPIC)
Provides parents, teachers, and other educators with resources and programming on parent support, family literacy, character development in children, creating home-school partnerships, and family engagement in education. 

Prevention Focus
Provides quality programs and strategies proven to address problem behaviors and promote healthy choices for parents and children grades K-12.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Bullying  - non-fiction books for parents and teachers
Bullying Prevention - non-fiction books for children
Bully -(DVD) PG 13 version of 2013 documentary by Lee Hirsch
Cyberbullying - non-fiction books for parents and teachers
Cyberbully  - (DVD) ABC family. Dramatic depiction