Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Caregiving

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

MedlinePlus Caregivers
Find links to sources that are accurate, relevant and free of commercial ads. From the premiere resource for consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine

 

Websites

About Assisted Living
Written by a group of medical professionals, AboutAssistedLiving.org is meant to serve as a resource for anyone looking for information on placing themselves or a loved-one into an assisted living or elder care facility.

Caregiver Distress Checklist - American Cancer Society
Caregivers are often so concerned with caring for their relative’s needs that they lose sight of their own well-being. Find out if you are in need of care and support by answering a few questions.

Caring for a Loved One  - Cancer.net
Whether at home, long-distance or in a hospital, this site provides solid information, useful tips and advice and links to online support groups and blogs.

Eldercare Locator  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
A public service of the U.S. Administration on Aging, this site provides links to local community services and also provides national links from Aging & Disability Resource Center, National Clearinghouse Long-Term Care Information, and the Administration on Aging.

Family Caregiver Alliance
A national nonprofit organization providing information and support including tip sheets, webinars and other resources for caregivers.

Medicare and Caregivers 
Presented by NIHSeniorHealth, this site provides a clear step-by-step guide for the caregiver covering everything from finding out if the person is covered to what happens during hospitalization and more. Full glossary and FAQs.

National Caregivers Library  
One of the largest sources of information and tools for caregiversand seniors in the country. Find articles, forms, checklists and links to topic-specific external links.

Nursing Home Profiles – for Erie County from the New York State Department of Health
Nursing home quality measures give an indication of how well a nursing home provides care for its residents. Nursing Home Profiles display a set of quality measures that highlight ways in which nursing homes differ from one another. Exploring these quality measures is a starting point for your investigation into what nursing home is right for you or a loved one.

NYS Justice Center
The Justice Center is committed to supporting and protecting the health, safety, and dignity of all people with special needs and disabilities through advocacy of their civil rights, prevention of mistreatment, and investigation of all allegations of abuse and neglect so that appropriate actions are taken.

Older Adults: Tips for Caregivers - CDC
A list of resources for caregivers who serve older adults.

VA Caregiver Support 
Clearinghouse for information, online learning, support and links to services locally available for veterans and their families.

 

Community and Local Links

Alzheimer's Association - WNY Chapter 
The leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer care, support, and research. Includes information on Western New York care services to families and professionals on referral, support groups, care, education, and safety. Also provides a link to a 24/7 helpline.

Aspire of WNY
Since 1947, Aspire (formerly United Cerebral Palsy Association) has served individuals with cerebral palsy, intellectual disabilities, epilepsy, autism and other neurological impairments. Aspire provides services and support to persons who are challenged physically and cognitively as a result of traumatic brain injuries, strokes, hearing and visual impairments, as well as other disabling conditions.

Caregiver Resource Center – Erie County Department of Senior Services
Caregivers include senior citizens caring for relatives under the age of eighteen, as well as spouses, adult children, and/or friends. Find a wealth of useful links and information here. To speak with someone about caregiving, call (716) 858-8526.

Central Referral (2-1-1 WNY)
Find health and human services throughout the eight counties of WNY. Also home to DDInfolink, your direct link to services to persons with developmental disability. Search by agency, type of service or location. Results will lead to contact and eligibililty information as well as to agency websites where available.

Expanded In-home Services for the Elderly (EISEP)
EISEP services include non-medical in-home services such as housekeeping, personal care, respite, case management, and related services and support and supplement informal care provided by clients' families.Clients are required to share the cost of services, based on income. These costs are determined by a sliding scale and range from no-cost to full-cost

Hospice Buffalo- Palliative Care
Palliative care (pronounced pal-lee-uh-tiv) is specialized medical care for people with serious illnesses. It is focused on providing patients with relief from the symptoms, pain, and stress of a serious illness—whatever the diagnosis. The goal is to improve quality of life for both the patient and the family

Independent Living Center - WNY
Find resources about family reimbursement and other supports to keep individuals at home and out of long-term care facilities.

PACE ProgramCatholic Health Systems     PACE Program - Fallon Health Wienberg
PACE is an all- inclusive long-term care program for older adults who wish to live at home but qualify for nursing home care. They need assistance in order to maintain their health, complete day-to-day activities and remain safe for as long as possible.

People, Inc.
Serving the eight counties of WNY, People, Inc. provides services for children and young adults, community outreach, day programs, vocational services, family support and respite services, health care, information referral, residential services, and senior services.

Venture Forthe
Venture Forthe is keeping Western New Yorker's out of nursing homes and other skilled facilities with our specialized and comprehensive approach to home care and beyond. Find out how individuals with Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) and other chronic conditions can qualify for New York State Medicaid waiver programs. Information and services are Spanish language friendly.

 

Library Materials

Alzheimer's Disease
Caregiving
Elder Care