Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Cars, Trucks, RVs and Motorcycles

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

automobile

 

Databases

Chilton Library
 Diagnostics, step-by-step repair procedures, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks. 

Consumer Reports
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present.  Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of automobile and truck topics from magazines such as Automotive News, Commercial Motor, Cycle World, Fleet Owner, and Petersen's 4 Wheel & Off Road. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
Contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, science, multicultural issues and much more. MasterFILE Premier is an excellent resource for car, motorcycle, RV and truck information with full-text access to Dealernews, Dirt Bike, DIRTSports, Fleet Equipment, Kiplinger's Personal Finance, Money, Motor Age, Overdrive, and Popular Mechanics Virtual Tour

 

Websites

AutoTrader.com
Find new and used car prices for online and local car dealers, trade-in values, plus reviews for new makes and models.

Kelley Blue Book
Provides pricing information on new and used vehicles based on features, condition, and mileage.   Select the “Research Tools” tab and scroll down to “Payment Calculator” to find out how much a car will cost per month.    Do not press the “Apply Online" button unless you wish to apply for a loan.

Lease or Purchase
Smart About Money, presented by the National Endowment for Financial Education, provides this calculator to compare the final cost to purchase or lease an automobile.

National Automobile Dealers Association
Get price information for new and used cars, boats, motorcycles, RVs and mobile homes based on features, condition, and mileage.  

The National Highway Safety Administration 
Find vehicle safety ratings, recalls and tips on safe driving.  

National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS)
An electronic system that provides consumers with valuable information about a vehicle's condition and history. Prior to purchasing a vehicle, NMVTIS allows consumers to find information on the vehicle's title, most recent odometer reading, brand history, and, in some cases, historical theft data.  Reports are provided by various agencies at a fraction of the cost charged by larger commercial entities such as Carfax.

New York State Drivers License and Vehicle Registration 
Information and online forms to get your vehicle registered or transfer ownership.

New York State Department of Finance Automobile Insurance Information for Consumers
Find auto insurance coverage requirements, contact information for insurance companies and reports on complaints made against automobile insurance companies.

U.S. Department of Energy Fuel Economy site
Find MPG ratings for automobiles.   The tab for “Save Money & Fuel” provides a link for local gas prices. The Trip Calculator will help you can figure out the cost for your next road trip and suggest a route.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Niagara Campgrounds & RV Parks
Pitch a tent, rent a cabin or park an RV.

The Buffalo Transportation Pierce-Arrow Museum
Antique autos, bikes & motorcycles highlight the history of transportation in western New York.

Niagara Auto Swap Meet & Car Show
Contains information about upcoming events, cruise nights, and more.

Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority (NFTA)
Serving Buffalo Niagara through cost-effective, quality transportation services everyday.

Olcott Beach Car Show
Located in a shaded park on the shores of Lake Ontario, the Olcott Beach Car Show has grown into one of the largest outdoor car events in Western New York.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Alternative fuel vehicles
Automobile insurance 
Automobile purchasing
Automobile repair
Motorcycle customizing
Motorcycle repair
Pickup trucks
Recreational vehicles
Sport utility vehicles
Truck repair