Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Chemistry

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover". Chemistry articles can be found in The Atlantic, Education Week, Field & Stream, Popular Science, Science Illustrated, Science News and The New Republic. 

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

Science in Context
For those seeking information on today's most significant science topics.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

American Chemical Society
A starting point for those seeking chemistry resources on the Internet. The full current year issues of several ACS journals are available.   There's even a local WNY section of the ACS.

Chemical Heritage Foundation
Fosters an understanding of chemistry's impact on society.  An independent, nonprofit organization, CHF maintains major collections of instruments, fine art, photographs, papers, and books. They host conferences and lectures, support research, offer fellowships, and produce educational materials. The museum and public programs explore subjects ranging from alchemy to nanotechnology.

ChemIDplus
Dictionary of thousands of chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). Designed for simple searching on name or registry. ChemIDplus Advanced helps users draw their own structures and perform similarity and substructure searches.

ChemSpider
A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources. 

Haz-Map
Occupational health and toxicology database designed to link jobs to hazardous job tasks that are linked to occupational diseases and their symptoms.

Khan Academy: Chemistry
Join a global classroom online and take free lessons. All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years. There is also an Organic Chemistry section.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry
Awarded annually by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Periodic Table of the Elements
Explore key information about the elements from the Los Alamos National Laboratory.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Museum of Science
Dedicated to the study and interpretation of the natural and physical sciences, the Buffalo Museum of Science's extensive collections and artifacts represent all facets of the natural world with an emphasis on Western New York as well as man-made objects spanning the globe. Anchoring Buffalo's East Side in Olmsted-designed Martin Luther King, Jr. Park since 1929, the museum presents a wide variety of programs and services for children, teachers, families, adults and community organizations throughout the year.

Chemistry Department - Buffalo State
The Department of Chemistry at Buffalo State College is dedicated to preparing students for careers in Chemistry, Forensic Chemistry and Secondary Education or for continuing education at the graduate school level.

UB Department of Chemistry
Contains various research areas of concentration with undergraduate and graduate courses available for study.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Biochemistry
Chemicals
Chemistry
Chemistry Study Guides
Inorganic Chemistry
Organic Chemistry
Physical Chemistry