Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

College Information

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Door to higher education

 

Databases

Foundation Grants to Individuals (Can only be accessed at Central,  Audubon,  Collins,  Kenmore, and Lancaster)
Foundation Grants to Individuals is an online database of more than 6,500 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. Virtual Tour  Finding Foundation Support for your Education (1 hour presentation on YouTube) 

 

Websites

Affordable Colleges Online
Provides a listing of colleges and universities that offer low tuition, full collections of online programs at multiple levels, and years of demonstrated academic excellence and financial support.

AffordableColleges.com
Information regarding financial aid; online programs; college degree breakdowns; and  college rankings

BestColleges.com 
Updated information including college rankings; financial aid assistance; a database of colleges; and career opportunities available for college graduates.

Choosing and online course
Guidance on choosing an online program from thebestcolleges.org

College Scholarships, Colleges and Online Degrees
Offers free college scholarship and financial aid services; SAT and ACT test prep tips; information on online degree and online college programs.

FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid)
Online Application and Links to Financial Aid Eligibility

Khan Academy: College Admissions
Contains advice that is relevant for all college applicants in addition to portions tailored for high potential students who are worried about whether they can afford higher education.

Khan Academy: SAT Test Prep
Free online lessons/tutorials for students, with sections for parents and teachers. 

New York 529 college saving plan
A 529 account is a type of investment account you can use for higher-education savings sponsored by New York State. Savings are tax exempt when used to pay for school.

New York State Career Zone
The place to explore careers related to your strengths, skills and talents. 

Occupational Outlook Handbook 

This classic source contains job descriptions, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

Open Learning Initiative
Provides self-guided learning materials; activities; and assessments for students and instructors.

Peterson's
A Comprehensive Guide to College Information including college information; admissions advice; graduate school information; test prep assistance; scholarship searches; financial aid information.

Princeton Review
Provides information on a variety of schools; entrance exams; school rankings; online applications; financial advice as well as graduate study information.

Sallie Mae: Borrowing for School
"Sallie Mae offers many resources to make borrowing for school simpler and more convenient than ever." Included are tips on federal and private loans, percentage rates, and promissory notes. There is also a loan repayment calculator.

SAT/ACT Prep
SAT and ACT Prep Resources; Testing tips; Degree Programs Online; College Rankings and School Profiles

Scholarship Hunter
Hunt for scholarships by major or state; essay contests; learn about financial aid and how to avoid scams.

Tuition-Free Degree Program - The Excelsior Scholarship
Information regarding New York State's tuition free degree program including eligibilty and FAQ's

U.S. Dept. of Education
College and Career information including student loan information;  federal student aid; grant opportunities; accreditation database including programs and internships.

U.S. News and World Report Best Colleges
Exclusive rankings and profiles of over 1,400 schools.  Details on scholarships; loans; and grants; campus life; and sports programs

Veritas Prep
Free SAT Resources including SAT tips, strategies and online tests; ACT resources; GMAT prep for business;  as well as free college application profile evaluations.

 

Community and Local Links 

WNY College Connection - College Fairs
On this site you will find links to admissions; college fairs; financial aid; scholarships and more.

Colleges and Universities of Western New York
A listing from ALLWNY.COM of local colleges and universities in the Western New York Area.

Say Yes Buffalo
Say Yes Buffalo provides scholarships to eligible graduates of Buffalo public and charter schools to all State University of New York (SUNY) and City University of New York (CUNY) schools and more than 90 private colleges and universities. Eligibility, applications and FAFSA help available on this site.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Choosing a College
Financial Aid Resources
Scholarship Resources
Writing college admission essays

Exam preparation materials

ACT (American College Testing)
CLEP (College-Level Examination Program)
LSAT (Law School Admission Test)
GMAT(Graduate Management Admission Test)
GRE   (Graduate Record Examination)
 MCAT (Medical College Admission Test)
PSAT (Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test)
SAT  (Scholastic Aptitude Test)
TASC (Test Assessing Secondary Completion, High School Equivalency Exam)
TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language)