12/11/17 Lackawanna Library will be closing at 2:00 PM today
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Common Core & STEAM

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

common core

STEAM

 

Milestones of Science: Books that Shook the World!, a new FREE exhibition featuring books by the most influential innovators in the history of science including Aristotle, Isaac Newton, Leonardo da Vinci, and Charles Darwin, among other world renowned inventors and scientists, is now open to the public at the downtown Central Library, 1 Lafayette Square.

Alongside the magnificent books on display are attractive graphics, interactive activity stations, representative props, and wall panels to further illuminate the presented information.   Also in the gallery space is an all-ages interactive area called The STEM Education Center, where games, videos, and program stations amplify themes presented in the exhibition.
 

Databases

Academic Onefile
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Education titles include American Education, Childhood Education, Education and Higher Education. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits contains over 100 age appropriate magazines for students in kindergarten through grade five.  Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps. flags, seals, charts, and graphs. Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

Novelist K-8
NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. It will help young readers answer the question of what to read next. 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints.  Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.  Virtual Tour 

Science in Context
For those seeking information on today's most significant science topics. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

Common Core

Common Core Standards
Learn why Common Core is important for children, explore the standards and understand how it was created.

Common Sense for Common Core - Parents
Scholastic provides book recommendations by grade level, a Q & A section, an overview of Common Core basics, News and other resources.

Common Sense for Common Core - Teachers
Scholastic provides resources & materials, sample lesson plans, and book lists.

Engage NY
Curriculum maps, lesson modules, toolkits, lesson plans, sample test questions, and more for New York state.

Khan Academy - Common Core Math
Organized by grade level and topic

New York State Common Core Learning Standards
Preschool - grade 12 Common Core Learning Standards Documents.

PBS Education Resources
PreK-12 educational resources and activities for educators tied to PBS programming and correlated to local and national standards.

Teaching Channel
Online community where teachers can watch, share, and learn diverse techniques to help every student grow. Register for free to download supporting materials.

STEM/STEAM

All Things STEAM
Comprehensive resources for offering programming in science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics from a librarian blogger.

Engineer Your Life
A guide to engineering for high school girls, with sections for Middle Schoolers, Counselors & Parents and Engineers.

Environmental Health Student Portal
Features a variety of science topics with experiments, games, videos and a section for teachers.

STEM to STEAM
The movement seeks to encourage integration of Art + Design in K–20 education 

STEM - U.S. Department of Education
Federal resources are helping to assist educators in implementing effective approaches for improving STEM teaching and learning; facilitating the dissemination and adoption of effective STEM instructional practices nationwide; and promoting STEM education experiences that prioritize hands-on learning to increase student engagement and achievement.

 

Community and Local Links

Albright-Knox Art Gallery
Find exhibit, education and library information for the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo's internationally renowned gallery for modern and contemporary art.

Aquarium of Niagara
Dive into an ocean of discovery at Niagara's other water wonder! Highlights include California sea lion demonstrations, harbor seals, and a colony of Peruvian penguins. Over 40 aquatic exhibits.

Buffalo Center for Arts and Technology
Inspires excellence and creativity and offers a culture of hope and purpose that transforms the lives of adults and high-school students.

Buffalo Museum of Science
Dedicated to the study and interpretation of the natural and physical sciences, the Buffalo Museum of Science's extensive collections and artifacts represent all facets of the natural world with an emphasis on Western New York as well as man-made objects spanning the globe. Anchoring Buffalo's East Side in Olmsted-designed Martin Luther King, Jr. Park since 1929, the museum presents a wide variety of programs and services for children, teachers, families, adults and community organizations throughout the year.

Buffalo Zoo
The perfect place for unique family fun all year long! It's the only place in town to observe a wide variety of exotic and domestic animals in naturalistic habitats, including the zoo's new M&T Bank Rainforest Falls exhibit.

EdTech Foundation of WNY
Group of volunteers who enrich the lives of children by improving access to modern computer technology. The Foundation sets-up and installs or configures reliable networks, computers, smartboards, servers and other types of technology for community centers, schools, or non-profits.

Explore & More Children's Museum
Spark a child’s creativity, curiosity & imagination with hands on exhibits at Explore and More.

Penn Dixie Paleontological and Outdoor Education Center
Owned and operated by the Hamburg Historical Society, the site provides geological activities such as searching for fossils and on site tours for schools.

Tifft Nature Preserve
Tifft Nature Preserve is a 264-acre nature refuge dedicated to conservation and environmental education.

WNY Invention Convention
To promote creative thinking and encourage scientific problem-solving for students in grades K-8.

WNY Regional Science and Engineering Fair
The Western New York Regional Science and Engineering Fair (WNYRSEF), sponsored by WNY Science Congress, Inc., is open to students in grades 5 – 12 from five WNY counties (Erie, Niagara, Orleans, Genesee, and Wyoming). This includes students who are enrolled in public or private schools, students who are home-schooled, and those involved in organizations outside of the traditional school setting.

WNY STEM
Hub of the Empire State STEM Learning Network advancing the interdisciplinary teaching and learning of science, technology, engineering, the arts, and mathematics.

 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Common Core
Engineering
How Things Work
Math
Science
Science Fair Projects
Technology
Writing