12/12/17 Bookmobile Colden stop and Cultural Literacy Event at J.T. Waugh Elementary are cancelled.
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Consumer Health

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

https://newsinhealth.nih.gov/                                                                  

These links are not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.

Databases     

Consumer Reports
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present. To use this resource, click on “Search within this publication” on the upper left side of the display.  Click on “Advanced Search” and enter the words describing the topic of your search in the  box(es) below “JN “Consumer Reports”.

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

Health Reference Center Academic
Find full-text of nursing and allied health journals plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. Virtual Tour

 

Websites 

DeafHealth.org
Deaf Health provides accurate, concise, and valuable health information in American Sign Language to the deaf and hard of hearing population.

Familydoctor.org
Easy access to printable handouts on diseases and conditions from the American Academy of Family Physicians. This site also has a dictionary, health calculators and Healthy Living Guides.

Find a Health Center   Enter your zip code to find a list of providers
HRSA Health Centers care for you, even if you have no health insurance – you pay what you can afford based on your income. Health centers provide services that include checkups when you are well, treatment when you are sick, complete care when you are pregnant, and immunizations and checkups for your children. Some health centers also provide mental health, substance abuse, oral health, and/or vision services. Contact the health center organization directly to confirm the availability of specific services and to make an appointment.

Genetics Home Reference
Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health.

Health Information in Multiple Languages
Find health information in languages other than English.

HealthReach
Health information in many languages

MedlinePlus.gov  Español
This user-friendly government site puts you in touch with over 18,000 links to accurate, current medical information including drug information, medical dictionary & encyclopedia, health news, tutorials, interactive health games, and more. 

New York Rx Card
As a resident of New York, you and your family have access to a statewide Prescription Assistance Program (PAP). Create and print your FREE discount prescription drug card from this site.

New York State Department of Health
Comprehensive health website including health statistics, consumer health information, health provider licensing and profiles and health insurance information.

The New York State Doctor Profile
Provides information on a physician’s education, practice, and professional activities.   Under Legal Actions see if there are any malpractice suits filed against him or her.

New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
Information on addictions, treatment, recovery and wellness.

NIH MedlinePlus Magazine
Quarterly magazine which contains up-to-date health information with the latest breakthroughs from NIH-supported research. People are featured from all walks of life talking about how they've handled their health challenges.

PubMed Central
Digital repository that archives publicly accessible full-text scholarly articles that have been published within the biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

State Health Facts
Up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, the United States, counties, territories, and other geographies.

Symptom Checker
From the Mayo Clinic, this site guides the user through a series of questions leading to helpful diagnostic possibilities. NOT a substitute for consulting your health care provider.

Top 100 List -Health Websites You Can Trust
From the Consumer and Patient Health Information Section of the Medical Librarians Association, find links to approved sites arranged by topic area. Updated annually.

 U.S. News & World Report Hospital ranking site
See hospital rankings by specialty or perform general searches for information including patient satisfaction ratings.

What did my doctor say?
The Medical Library Association created this page to help you understand what a doctor or nurse tells you. You’ll find tips on how to understand many health words.

 

Community and Local Links

2-1-1 WNY
Find it fast! Your link to resources and services throughout Western New York. Specialty databases also offered include Pregnancy and Early Parenting, Developmental Disabilities, Prisoner Re-entry and Caregivers. You may also access this resource by calling 211.

Erie County Department of Health
Programs at Buffalo & Erie County Public Libraries

Keys to Health
P² Collaborative works to improve the health of Western New Yorkers from every possible angle. Contains health data, county health rankers, community demographics, and a WNY Community Health Needs Assessment. 

Rx for Health Information
Request free, reliable, and understandable health information. Your requests can be submitted online or by mail. Questions are answered by professional Medical Librarians from all Kaleida Health Hospitals. Services are available for Kaleida Health customers and the greater WNY community.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog. 

Drug handbooks and manuals 
Health topics
Medical topics
Nutrition handbooks
Patient education

 

Category-Term: