Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Cooking

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Check out our Healthy Eating guide for nutritional resources and additional recipe links. 

 

Databases

Consumer Reports 
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1985 to the present. Search for ratings and articles about kitchen appliances, cookware and more.  Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

Culinary Arts Collection
The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.  

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues, etc.  You can find articles from Better Homes & Gardens, Country Living, Good Housekeeping, Mother Earth News, Prevention, Natural Health, Restaurant Hospitality, Redbook, Vegetarian Times and more.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

All Recipes
A great resource for searching recipes and cooking tips.  If you join the website as a free member, you can save a collection of recipes, submit your recipes, and review other recipes.

Bon Appetit
The magazine’s website contains tips, tools, and recommended ingredients for various dishes.

Cooking Channel
Top global chefs share their best recipes and demonstrate their specialties in cooking technique videos

Cooking Light
With a focus on recipes that encourage healthy living and nutrition, this website contains a variety of different recipes that include vegetarian dishes and world cuisine.

Fine Cooking
Kitchen-tested recipes, videos, healthy meals, party menus and cooking techniques from top cooks

Fire & Freedom Exhibition: Food & Enslavement in Early America 
Digital gallery with books from the 18th century about the art of cookery, containing historical recipes.

Food & Wine
Inspiration is served daily with recipes, recommended wines, and a search feature for restaurants at different travel locations.

Food.com
Fosters a community among people that like to cook, with recipes and menus from its members.

Food Network
Featuring recipes from TV and award-winning chefs, the website contains a platter of sections just as varied as the food-centric shows of the network.

Food Safety
Follow safety tips from this resource regarding food temperature and more.

Gourmet
From food politics to travel to a vast collection of recipes & videos, Gourmet magazine’s website is great for any palate.

Taste of Home
Browse recipes by course, cooking style, cuisine, ingredient and more categories to find a new family-favorite dish

 

Community and Local Links 

Buffalo Greek Fest
Experience the sights, sounds and tastes of the birthplace of democracy – Greece. Enjoy the Greek food, feel the rhythm of the music, and dance a little!

Buffalo Soup-Fest
Sip, slurp and sample some of WNYs finest soups!

BurgerFest
Celebrating the birthplace of the hamburger in Hamburg, New York and features favorite offerings of area restaurants.

Eden Corn Fest
Featuring food, a midway, craft show, parade, agriculture showcase, contests, and more!

Food Truck Tuesdays at Larkin Square
Enjoy live music, market stalls and food trucks!

Guide to WNY Farmer's Markets
A work-in-progress farmer's market guide which covers WNY from the Southern Tier to Niagara County. Weather and seasons may play a roll on what is available at each marekt.

Hamburg Oktoberfest
Featuring authentic food, drinks, music, dancing, and a car show!

Italian Heritage and Food Festival of Buffalo New York
Festival favorites include: the best local entertainment, bocce tournament, Miss Italian Festival, Italian Idol Contest, cooking demonstrations, amusements and crafts for kids all offer something for everyone’s enjoyment.

The National Buffalo Wing Festival 
The festival has become the “Super Bowl” of the chicken wing industry for restaurants, wing lovers, and competitive eaters.  It has even been showcased by national media such as various Food Network shows, ABC’s The View, and NBC’s Today Show.

Nickel City Chef
The audience watches as the Nickel City Chefs and their challengers attempt to create the three best dishes in under an hour.  The challengers employ classic and modern techniques in order to showcase their skills and the secret ingredient.  All of Nickel City Chef’s secret ingredients come from right here in Western New York.

Polish Heritage Festival
Food, culture, traditions, exhibitors and entertainment.  There are even bake-offs and a pierogi eating contest.

Taste of Buffalo
Celebrated by attendees from all over New York, Southern Ontario, Pennsylvania and Ohio as well as visitors from across the country and around the globe, the Taste features cuisine just as varied. From Indian to Polish, Italian to Chinese, Caribbean to Irish, there is something to please every taste bud.

Taste of Lancaster
Featuring food from local restaurants, vendors and music!

Taste of Lockport
Each year approximately 7,500 Western New Yorkers attend this event to sample over 25 restaurants and wineries and enjoy live music and other family activities. The money raised by Taste of Lockport benefits the Lockport Business Association's mission and goals.

Western New York Local Restaurant Week
Dine out with friends and family in support of the local independent restaurant community, and experience incredible savings with tasty dining meals.

WNY Vegfest
Featuring speakers, exhibitors, vendors, live music, delicious & healthy food, rescue animals, children’s activities, performances, a 5K and more!

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Appetizers
Baby & Toddler
Baking 
Children's Cookbooks
Cookery & Cooking
Dairy Free & Other Allergy-Free Recipes 
Desserts
Drinks
Gluten-free
Healthy Recipes  
Holiday Recipes
Low-Calorie
Quick & Easy Recipes
Raw Food
Recipes
Recipes for Kids
Slow Cooking
Soups & Salads
Sugar Free
Vegan
Vegetarian