Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Crafts and Hobbies

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Databases

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.  Titles include American Craft, Arts & Activities and Ontario Craft. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.   Virtual Tour   

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Craft related titles include Craft Arts International and WorkbasketVirtual Tour

 

Websites

Craftbits.com
Includes a wide variety of project ideas including holiday, paper and recycled crafts. Kids crafts, scrapbooking and jewelry projects are also included.  Membership registration required.

Craftster
Share hip, off-beat, do-it-yourself projects with other crafters. Features projects; keepin’ it green ideas; eco-friendly articles; calendar of craft events and classes; and a Craftster online store.

DLTK's Crafts for Kids
Children's crafts, coloring pages, worksheets, poems, games and other activities for preschool, kindergarten and elementary school kids.

Enchanted Learning
Crafts for kids. Kindergarten, preschool, and elementary school crafts. Make wonderful, simple crafts with things found around the house.

Etsy
Buy and sell homemade, unique items directly from the artisans. Shop, Blog and post information regarding craft fairs; art festivals and other scheduled events of the global art community.

Instructables
A web-based platform where participants share educational and inspirational projects.  Step by Step descriptions and instructions are provided to promote collaboration of a wide variety of projects.

Pinterest
A visual discovery tool that you can use to find ideas for all your projects and interests. Free registration required to view most boards.

WhatTheCraft
A site for free sewing and craft information. Includes how-to tutorials demonstrating a variety of projects including sewing, jewelry making, various crafts and projects for kids. Also includes articles, interviews, reviews, and contests. 

Community and Local Links  

Allentown Art Festival
The Allentown Art Festival takes place in the historic preservation district of Buffalo, NY.  It is an annual festival featuring over 400 unique exhibitors.

Elmwood Avenue Festival of the Arts
Information on this popular WNY festival where regional artists; musicians; crafts people and community organizations get together to present their work and foster education of the arts.

The Fairgrounds
Located in Hamburg, NY, the Fairgrounds is home to several popular craft shows throughout the year.

Roycroft Campus 
Located in East Aurora, Ny, this complex of buildings evolved as centers of craftsmanship and philosophy during the late 19th century Arts & Crafts Movement. 

 


Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Coins
Crocheting
Handicraft
Hobbies
Holiday Decorations
Jewelry Making
Knitting
Origami
Scrapbooking
Sewing
Stamp Collecting
Woodworking

 

Category-Term: