Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Disability History

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

July 26, 1990

 

 

Celebrate New York State Disability History Week

Third week of October

 

Databases

History Reference Center
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos. Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. A great place to get your research started.  Virtual Tour 

MasterFile Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

Beyond Affliction
A four hour documentary radio series from NPR about the shared experience of people with disabilities and their families since the beginning of the 19th century. This site also contains primary source documents, photos and extended interviews. *The full audio is no longer available from NPR. CDs may be purchased here.

Black Deaf History/Culture
This article was written for the Described and Captioned Media Program(DCMP) Learning Center of accessibility information. DCMP, administered by the National Association of the Deaf and funded by the US Department of Education.

Disability History Association
An International Society for study of the history of individuals or groups with disabilities, perspectives on disability, representations/ constructions of disability, policy and practice history, teaching, theory, and Disability and related social and civil rights movements. 

Disability History Museum
A digital archive that only exists online. It contains digital versions of images, texts, and other artifacts related to disability history that have been gathered from libraries and private collections across the country. 

Disability Rights and Independent Living Movement
From UC Berkeley's oral history collection, discover a rich collection of primary sources exploring the social and political history of the disability movement from the 1960s to the present.

Disability Social History Project
People with disabilities have an exciting and rich history that should be shared with the world. Disability Social History Project includes disabled heroes, important events in disability history and disability resources.

It's Our Story
It's Our Story is a national initiative to make disability history public and accessible; we've collected over 1,000 video interviews from disability leaders across the country. Now, we're making this critical aspect of American history public, accessible and interactive.

Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Virtual Exhibitions - The Disability Rights Movement
The website is based on the accessible kiosks developed for the "real" facility. It is easy to navigate and features text, photos and ephemera of the disability rights movement.

 

Community and Local Links

Museum of disABILITY
Located at 3826 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14226

The Museum of disABILITY History is dedicated to advancing the understanding, acceptance and independence of people with disabilities. There is a virtual museum as well as educational resources offered online in addition to the extensive physical collection on exhibit at the museum.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Disability History- United States
Disability Encyclopedia 
History of Disability Series