Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Drugs and Supplements

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

These links are not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.

  

Databases

Consumer Reports
Full-text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present. To use this resource,click on “Search within this publication” on the upper left side of the display.  Click on “Advanced Search” and type the name of the drug you are looking for into the box(es) below “JN “Consumer Reports” . 

Websites

DailyMed
Provides high quality, advertising-free information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). You will find a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. 

Dietary Supplements from the U.S. Food & Drug Administration
Dietary supplements include vitamins, minerals, and other less familiar substances — such as herbals, botanicals, amino acids, enzymes, and animal extracts. Find out everything you need to know before choosing what is right for you.

Drug Information Portal
Provides users a comprehensive gateway to information on thousands of substances not only from NLM but also from other U.S. government agencies. It covers drugs from the time they are entered into clinical trials through their entry into the U.S. marketplace. It is intended as a "middle ground" resource which includes information for the consumer, health professionals, and researchers.

Drugs, Herbs & Supplements from MedlinePlus
Learn about prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines,herbs and supplements. Includes side effects, dosage and special precautions in an easily understandable format.

Know Your Medicines- American Heart Association Heart Insight supplement 
Understanding medicine labels, managing your medicines and over-the-counter medicines are discussed. Links to other Heart Insight articles included.

FDA 
United States Food and Drug Administration drug information pages. Find out about existing drugs, drug safety, new drugs in the approval process and more.

New York Rx Card
As a resident of New York, you and your family have access to a statewide Prescription Assistance Program (PAP). Create and print your FREE discount prescription drug card from this site.

Needy Meds
This is a clearinghouse for information about the various assistance programs available from pharmaceutical manufacturers for patients who cannot afford medications. It also has information about government assistance programs and coupons.

PharmaCannis 
A medical cannabis provider under the New York Compassionate Care Act. Find out about the laws related to medical cannabis and if you might qualify.

Pillbox
Identify or search for a pill by color, shape, size, ingredients, etc.

Prescription Assistance Program
Partnership for Prescription Assistance helps qualifying patients without prescription drug coverage get the medicines they need through the program that is right for them. Many will get their medications free or nearly free. Partnership for Prescription Assistance will help you find the program that’s right for you, free of charge. You will never be asked for money by a PPA Call Center representative, or on this Web site

Prescription Drug Prices in New York State
The New York State Board of Pharmacy publishes an annual list of the 150 most frequently prescribed drugs, in the most common quantities. The New York State Department of Health collects retail price information on these drugs from pharmacies that participate in the Medicaid program and from pharmacies that submit their retail price information directly to the Department of Health. This site allows you to search for specific drugs from the most frequently prescribed drug list.

Community and Local Links

Elderly Pharmaceutical Insurance Coverage (EPIC) Program
EPIC is a New York State program that helps seniors pay for their prescription drugs. 

Erie County Discount Prescription Card 
This card was designed to be used if you do not have insurance or if something is not covered by your current insurance program.

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Dietary Supplements
Non-prescription drugs
Prescription drugs
Pharmacology

 

 

Category-Term: