Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Education

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

open dictionary

 

Databases  

Academic Onefile
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Education titles include American Education, Childhood Education, Education and Higher Education. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Education related titles include Adult Basic Education & Literacy Journal, American Secondary Education, EducationEducation DigestJournal of Education, Journal of Special Education, and Reading Teacher.  Virtual Tour

Pronunciator  
Pronunciator is a language resource database offering instruction for beginner, intermediate and advanced students in 80 foreign languages. It also offers English instruction for speakers of 50 foreign languages including Arabic, Bengali, Nepali, Somali, Spanish and Vietnamese.  

See our subject guide Commorn Core & STEAM for additional education resources.

 

Testing Information

HSE/TASC™ (replaces the GED)
Application process, eligibility requirements, test centers, schedules, and preparation programs for the new High School Equivalancy Test (HSE) the Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC).

New York State Elementary/Intermediate (grades 3-8) and High School Regents Exams
Listings of past examinations of various subject areas.

New York State Teacher Certification Examinations (NYSTCE)
Registration, certification requirements, preparation materials, and score reporting for the NYSTCE.

 

Websites

Coursera
Free courses online from world-class universities. The topics are varied, and lectures are formatted into series of short video clips.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
An online digital collection of education research from the Education Resources Information Center.  ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Department of Education.

Edutopia
Working to improve public schools with resources, tools, and solutions for teachers, administrators, and parents.

Homeschool World
The official website of Practical Homeschooling magazine.

Interactive Learning Sites for Education
K-5 online, interactive, educational games and simulations in one place. These activities work great with a SMARTboard or interactive whiteboard for whole group or small group instruction, use in the computer lab or at home for individual learning.

Khan Academy
Learn for free about math, art, computer programming, economics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, finance, history, and more.

Library of Congress Teachers Page
A teacher resource page created by the Library of Congress.

Modern States Education Alliance
A non-profit organization dedicated to making a high quality college education free of cost and accessible to any person. Modern States’ initial program, Freshman Year for Free, is intended to let students earn up to one year of college credit without tuition or textbook expense.

National Archives Resources for Educators and Students
Online access to resources for educators from the National Archives.

Open Learning Initiative
Provides self-guided learning materials; activities; and assessments for students and instructors.

Scholastic Teaching Ideas
Lesson ideas, classroom strategies, book lists, videos and reproducibles in a daily blog by teachers

Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies
A link to the vast resources available through the Smithsonian Center for Education and Museum Studies.

TeacherTube
An online community for sharing instructional teacher videos.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Area Teacher Recruitment Days
A premier teacher recruiting event in Western New York. Attendance at this event is by pre-registration only. 

Charter Schools in Erie County
School directory of charter schools in WNY

Education Collaborative
Consortium of private high schools in Erie and Niagara Counties of Western New York.

Education News
Articles regarding education from Buffalo Business First, please note that some articles you need to pay for access. However, some local libraries subscribe to print copies of Buffalo Business First, which include the Schools Guide with academic rankings.

New York State Common Core Learning Standards
Preschool - grade 12 Common Core Learning Standards Documents.

Office of Special Education (Western Regional Office)
Resources from the New York State Education Department

Special Education
Erie 1 BOCES Special Education provides programs which are designed for students with disabilities whose instructional needs cannot be appropriately served by their local school district.  Special education classes, for students ages 5-21, are hosted within the component school districts. 

Western New York Educational Service Council
The WNYESC is a non-profit educational organization chartered in 1966 by the Regents of the State of New York to serve public and private schools in all eight counties in Western New York.  Whether you are searching for professional development workshops, data analysis, leadership mentoring opportunities, school district research and planning studies, curriculum or staffing audits, or even searches for superintendents and principals, the Western New York Educational Service Council can assist.

WNY School District Directory
Compiled by the Career Development Center of Buffalo State

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Classroom Management
Curriculum Planning
Education, Elementary
Education, Preschool
Education, Secondary
Effective Teaching
Internet in Education
Lesson Planning
Teaching

 

Category-Term: