Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Energy Conservation

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Databases

Consumer Reports
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present.  

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Features millions of full-text articles, many with images that are updated on a daily basis.  Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
Contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 19,000 pro/con viewpoints and 13,000 topic overviews. Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.  Virtual Tour 

 

Websites

American Gas Association
Energy effieciency - Tips for Consumers

Consumer Guide to Home Energy Savings
Tips and guidelines from the American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy. Topics range from selecting appliances to energy audits.

Do-It-Yourself Videos 
Energy Saving and other "How-to" videos.

Energy Circle
A variety of energy related information, videos, products, and blogs.

Home Energy
Home Energy magazine’s mission is to disseminate objective and practical information on residential energy efficiency, performance, comfort, and affordability.

National Grid
Energy Saving Tips

U.S. Department of Energy:  Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
The Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE), offering a variety of information to homes, vehicles, and other areas pertaining to energy efficiency and renewable energies.

U.S. Department of Energy:  Energy Savers
Energy Savers provides homeowners with tips for saving energy and money at home and on the road.

 

Community and Local Links 

Buffalo First
Buffalo First is an organization comprised of local independent businesses, organizations and concerned citizens working to build a more local, green and fair economy for all.

Buffalo ReUse
Local organization whose aim is the reclamation of quality building materials, preservation of the architectural heritage of buildings that would otherwise be destroyed, and supply of low-cost building materials to enhance the structural and aesthetic quality of existing homes in our City. Check out their facebook page for the latest news.

New York State Energy Research and Development Authority 
NYSERDA’s aim is to help New York meet its energy goals by providing information about energy efficiency, tax incentives, funding opportunities, and more.

Tifft Nature Preserve
Tifft Nature Preserve is a 264-acre nature refuge dedicated to conservation and environmental education.

WNY Sustainable Energy Association
WNY Sustainable Energy Association is a non-profit community organization dedicated to sustainable energy solutions – practices, designs, technologies, policies, and programs  that promote energy conservation and efficiency in conjunction with solar and other renewable energy resources.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Dwellings--Energy Conservation
Kill A Watt Energy Kit