Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Exercise and Fitness

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

It is recommended to consult your doctor before beginning an exercise or fitness program. 

Databases

Consumer Reports  
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present.  Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics from magazines such as Environmental Nutrition, Flex, Food and Drink, Good Health, Redbook, Women's Health, and Women's Health Weekly. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
A consumer’s best source of information comes from product reviews and comparisons. Before you buy, compare products and services the best you can. A little bit of research could save you a lot of grief and money. MasterFILE Premier is an excellent resource for health information with full-text access to Better Nutrition, Men's Fitness, Men's Health, Nutrition Action Health Letter, Prevention, Real Simple, Shape, Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter, and Women's Sports & Fitness. Virtual Tour

Medline Plus
Find articles from medical journals and magazines.  Featured topics include sports fitness and physical fitness exercises.  Directories of health organizations, a medical encyclopedia, and drugs & supplements can also be searched. This link is not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.  

 

Websites

American Council on Exercise
Whether you’re a beginning exerciser who needs help getting started or someone who wants to add some spice to your fitness routine, our ACE Exercise Library offers a variety of movements to choose from. Browse through total-body exercises or movements that target more specific areas of the body. Each comes with a detailed description and photos to help ensure proper form.

EveryMove
Reviews and comparisons of fitness apps for your phone. 

Exercise and Physical Fitness: MedlinePlus
A comprehensive site that contains links to videos, tutorials, journal articles, health check tools, directories, and organizations.

Go4Life
Go4Life is an exercise and physical activity campaign from the National Institute on Aging at NIH, is designed to help you fit exercise and physical activity into your daily life.

Fit for Life -Disability and Health
Physical activity is good for your health. Don't let physical limitations get in your way. Find options and suggestions for programs and equipment to help find the activity that's right for you.

Fitness Basics: Do it for you American Heart Association
Everything you need to get started on the road to an active lifestyle including what equipment you might need, what time of day to exercise and more.

Mayo Clinic – Fitness
Covers fitness basics with multimedia, expert answers, and other resources.  You can also search the site for various articles about different exercise techniques.

President’s Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition
The PALA program will help you set realistic goals to achieve fitness for a lifetime.

 

Community and Local Links 
Check continuing education guides at your local library and recreation centers for brochures that contain exercise classes for all ages.  Visit our Outdoor Recreation guide for locations and ideas for fitness activities.

Buffalo Speed Skating Club
Buffalo Speedskating membership is open to skaters and supporters of all ages and abilities, from those just learning to skate to experienced speedskaters. Our regular season runs from September through March at two Buffalo ice rinks, Cazenovia and Riverside. 

Five Favorite Places to Walk in Western NY
May 22, 2015 article in Buffalo News Refresh.  Includes links to local resources

Jewish Community Center of Greater Buffalo
Located in Getzville, the JCCHC is open to everyone, regardless of race, religion, age and ability. Swimming pools, gymnasium, exercise facilities and many programs are available to members.

Niagara Frontier Bicycle Club
The club emphasizes safe and courteous riding in an extremely social environment. We ride at an athletic pace, and we welcome new riders! The NFBC ride schedule runs March through October and offers over 400 rides throughout the cycling season, with daily rides spanning the 8 counties of Western New York.

Tonawanda Aquatic and Fitness Center
The Town of Tonawanda Aquatic and Fitness Center brings new opportunities for you and your family. Learn to swim, take up aquatic fitness, join an aerobics class, improve your muscle tone and much more. It offers something for everyone through its various programs and its 50-meter main pool, kiddie pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam room, fitness room and aerobics room.

Wellness Institute of Greater Buffalo
Organization with a focus on community wellness. Sponsors wellness walks and other community activities throughout Buffalo and Erie County

Western New York Adaptive Water Sports
"Providing water access to people of all abilities." Adaptive fishing, water skiing, sailing and SCUBA.

YMCA Buffalo Niagara
An organization that features swimming lessons, teen leadership development, summer camps, and recreation programs for all ages.  YMCA Buffalo Niagara has five full facility branches, an overnight camp and multiple day camps:  Delaware, Independent Health, Ken-Ton,  SouthtownsWilliam-Emslie and Resident Camp Weona.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Aerobics
Exercise
Physical Fitness
Pilates
Running
Stretching
Tai Chi
Weight Training
Yoga