Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Gardening

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.  

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text articles covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Titles of interest include Horticulture, Natural Life and Organic Gardening, This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

Better Homes and Gardens 
The garden portion of the website contains sections on flowers, houseplants, regional gardening, landscaping, garden plans, lawn care and a plant encyclopedia.

Birds & Blooms
A magazine for bird, butterfly and garden lovers with online subscription, email tips list, pictures, and contests.

Fine Gardening
Plant guides, design ideas, "how-to" articles, gardening videos, discussion board and gardening blog.

National Gardening Association
Features growing ideas, expert advice, how-to projects & videos, regional gardening reports and plant care guides. There's also a section for Kids Gardening

United States Botanic Garden 
The United States Botanic Garden is an institution dedicated to demonstrating the aesthetic, cultural, economic, therapeutic, and ecological importance of plants to the well-being of humankind.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo and Erie County Botanical Gardens
The Buffalo and Erie County Botanical Gardens is a national historic site, education center and tourist destination full of exotic horticulture treasures. The Botanical Gardens features plants native to Western New York's temperate region in addition to plants native to tropical and sub-tropical regions of the world. Made up of three glass domes and nine greenhouses, this breathtaking conservatory is situated on 11.4 acres at the entrance to Buffalo's historic South Park.

Buffalo Bonsai Society
The club was established in 1965 to promote the study of bonsai Western New York.  Bonsai is a living art form which enables the hobbyist to transform conventional trees into a harmonious miniature representation of a mature tree in a small container.

Buffalo Home and Garden Show
The Buffalo Home and Garden Show exhibits the latest designs in remodeling, gardening, and home decorating. The show hosts over 500 experts available to demonstrate products and services. This site provides information on the show, ticket prices, attractions, and confirmed exhibitors.

Buffalo Olmsted Parks Conservancy 
A leading visitor destination and community resource comprised of connected historic parks, parkways, avenues, and circles where clean and safe landscapes are celebrated and revered as major works of public art.  Scenic features of the parks include the Rose Garden and Japanese Garden.

Cornell Co-op Extension 
Cornell University Cooperative Extension is an educational organization whose programs are available to all residents of Erie County. Accurate, unbiased information is provided, thus helping individuals make decisions on current issues based on up-to-date research facts from Cornell University and the United States Department of Agriculture. A unique cooperative arrangement among Erie County, Cornell University and the United States Department of Agriculture, allows Cooperative Extension to offer a wide range of program resources tailored to the needs and interests of local residents. Funding to support these programs is received from the County of Erie, the State of New York and the Federal Government.

Garden Walk Buffalo
Garden Walk Buffalo is a free, self-guided tour of over 300 Buffalo gardens, the largest garden tour in America.  Held annually on the last weekend of July, the Garden Walk has become one of Western New York's most anticipated summer happenings.  Tens of thousands of visitors attend each year as the city shows off beautiful homes and gardens.

Grassroots Gardens
Grassroots Gardens of Buffalo is a community gardening program in Western New York working with public and private sectors to revitalize neighborhoods and build quality of life through the reuse and beautification of vacant land.

National Buffalo Garden Festival
A six week celebration of the greater Buffalo area’s garden walks, talks, tours and events. 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Companion Planting
Compost
Container Gardening
Everything Trees
Exotic Plants
Flower Gardening 
Flower Art & Garden Art
Garden Ornaments and Furniture
Garden Pests
General Gardening
Grasses
Herb Gardening
Historical Gardens
History of Gardening
House Plants & Indoor Gardening
Japanese Gardening
Landscaping
Low Maintenance Gardening
Medicinal Plants
Northeastern Gardening
Organic Gardening
Plant Diseases & Problems
Plant Propagation 
Pruning
Rock Gardens
Vegetable Gardening
Water Gardens
 

Category-Term: