East Delavan Branch Library in Bflo is closed for construction & will reopen on Monday, November 6.
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Genealogy

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Ancestry Library 
Provides access to more than 1 billion names. Includes city directories, census records, immigration records and much more. Available at all library locations.   Virtual Tour

HeritageQuest Online
HeritageQuest Online contains U.S. federal census records from 1790-1940, special federal census schedules, over 20,000 local and family history books, over 20,000 U.S. city directories, a genealogical and local history serials index, Revolutionary War Pension Files, Freedman's Bank Records, and select content from the U.S. Serial Set.  Virtual Tour

Buffalo News
Full-text of articles from the Buffalo News, from 1989 - present. Virtual Tour

New York Times
Provides full-text coverage from 1985 to the present. NOVELny

Sanborn Maps of New York 1867-1970
Sanborn fire insurance maps are detailed property and land-use records. This database covers hundreds of New York state cities and towns including over 50 Erie County locations.  

 

Websites

The 1940 U.S. Census
The 1940 census records were released by the US National Archives April 2, 2012, and brought online through a partnership with Archives.com. This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions.

BuffaloResearch.com
Designed for family history research in Buffalo, Erie County, and Western New York, with hundreds of useful links. 

Cyndi’s List
If it has genealogical relevance and it’s online, you’ll find it at Cyndi’s List.

Family Search
Free access to the LDS Family Search databases and research guides.  

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Provides access to NARA’s genealogy topic guides, databases, and record order forms.

USGenWeb
A nationwide volunteer project related to census records, cemeteries, vital records, etc.

 

Community and Local Links

The Buffalo History Museum

PGSNYS - Polish Genealogical Society of New York State 

Western New York Genealogical Society

 

Resource Guides

Click on the following links to access the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library's genealogy resource guides:

Genealogy Collection Overview

Guides & Publications

Newspaper holdings in print and on microfilm

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog. 

Genealogy How-to Books
African American Genealogy
Arab Genealogy
Asian Genealogy
Eastern European Genealogy
English Genealogy
French Genealogy
German Genealogy
Greek Genealogy
Heraldry
Hispanic Genealogy
Hungarian Genealogy
Irish Genealogy  
Italian Genealogy  
Jewish Genealogy
Native American Genealogy 
Passenger Lists 
Polish Genealogy
Russian Genealogy
Scottish Genealogy