Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

General Reference

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Britannica Academic Edition
Britannica Academic combines the Encyclopædia Britannica with Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools. Articles are written by Nobel laureates, historians, curators, professors, and other experts.

CountryWatch
Economic and political surveys of 191 countries, updated continuously. Includes people, history, agriculture, economy, energy, environment, ethnic divisions, religions and more.

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Education titles include American Education, Childhood Education, Education and Higher Education. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas. Virtual Tour

MasterFile
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Education related titles include Adult Basic Education & Literacy JournalAmerican Secondary EducationEducationEducation DigestJournal of EducationJournal of Special Education, and Reading Teacher.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

Convert It
Conversion and Calculation Center - Measurements, currency, timezones and much more. 

Information Please Almanac
Quick almanac type information; daily weather, facts, sports, people, statistics, world news & facts, holidays, etc.

LibrarySpot
A good place to go for a variety of ready reference questions. The Reference Desk links include dictionaries, acronyms, associations, maps, quotations and style guides.

Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.

Merriam-Webster Online
Search the Merriam Webster Dictionary or Thesaurus. Listen to pronounciations and check out the "Word of the Day", "Word Games" and "Trends."

Old Farmer's Almanac
Long range forecasts for major regions of the U.S.; 5 day forecasts for U.S. and international cities; recipes and gardening tips.

OneLook Dictionary
Search many dictionaries at once or browse the comprehensive list of dictionary links. A special feature is the Reverse Dictionary which allows you to describe a concept and get back a list of words and phrases related to that concept. 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Almanacs
Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
Fun Facts & Trivia
Gazetteers (Geographical Dictionaries)