Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

General Science

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover". Science articles can be found in Air & Space, The Atlantic, The New Republic, Mother Earth News, Newsweek, Newsweek International, Popular Science, Science Illustrated, Science News and Smithsonian

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents. Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints.  Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.  Virtual Tour 

Science in Context
For those seeking information on today's most significant science topics. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

American Museum of Natural History Research Library
AMNH scientific publications disseminate the results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology.

Cornell University Cooperative Extension
Centralized online resource for the Cooperative Extension System, where anyone can find research-based and credible information they can use every day to improve their life. Content of the site originates in land-grant university research and is organized around communities of practice related to major areas of emphasis of the Extension System, including youth; leadership development; agriculture; natural resources; family, food, and consumer services; and community and economic development. You can read news, ask an expert, use interactive lessons, or link to the nearest extension office for information of local interest.

Khan Academy Science
Join a global classroom online and take free lessons. All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years. 

PubMed Central
Digital repository that archives publicly accessible full-text scholarly articles that have been published within the biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Science
International weekly science journal, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Science Daily
Breaking science news and articles on global warming, planets, stem cells, health, nanotechnology, fossils, and much more.

Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.

Science News for Students
Information and resources on science topics of interest to young people, categorized by topic.

Scientific American
Latest news and features on science issues that matter including earth, environment, and space.

TheScientist
Features news, current issues & archives of the magazine, scientific reports, rankings, and evaluations of post-publication peer reviews. 

 

Community and Local Links

Aquarium of Niagara
Dive into an ocean of discovery at Niagara's other water wonder! Highlights include California sea lion demonstrations, harbor seals, and a colony of Peruvian penguins. Over 40 aquatic exhibits.

Beaver Meadow Audubon Center
324-acre nature preserve in North Java, NY. The preserve features its namesake beaver meadow with its associated ponds, glacial kettle ponds, wetlands with a boardwalk trail, wooded uplands, meadows, a hawk watch, an arboretum, and eight miles of marked and groomed trails.

Buffalo Museum of Science
Dedicated to the study and interpretation of the natural and physical sciences, the Buffalo Museum of Science's extensive collections and artifacts represent all facets of the natural world with an emphasis on Western New York as well as man-made objects spanning the globe. Anchoring Buffalo's East Side in Olmsted-designed Martin Luther King, Jr. Park since 1929, the museum presents a wide variety of programs and services for children, teachers, families, adults and community organizations throughout the year.

Buffalo Zoo
The perfect place for unique family fun all year long! It's the only place in town to observe a wide variety of exotic and domestic animals in naturalistic habitats, including the zoo's new M&T Bank Rainforest Falls exhibit.

Explore & More Children's Museum
Spark a child’s creativity, curiosity & imagination with hands on exhibits at Explore and More.

Niagara Gorge Discovery Center
The Niagara Gorge Discovery Center showcases the natural and local history of Niagara Falls and the Niagara Gorge.

Penn Dixie Paleontological and Outdoor Education Center
Owned and operated by the Hamburg Historical Society, the site provides geological activities such as searching for fossils and on site tours for schools.

Reinstein Woods Nature Preserve & Environmental Education Center
292-acre complex of forests, ponds, and wetlands surrounded by suburban development. Reinstein Woods offers a variety of opportunities to explore and learn about nature for families and people of all ages.

Tifft Nature Preserve
Tifft Nature Preserve is a 264-acre nature refuge dedicated to conservation and environmental education.

WNY Invention Convention
To promote creative thinking and encourage scientific problem-solving for students in grades K-8.

WNY Regional Science and Engineering Fair
The Western New York Regional Science and Engineering Fair (WNYRSEF), sponsored by WNY Science Congress, Inc., is open to students in grades 5 – 12 from five WNY counties (Erie, Niagara, Orleans, Genesee, and Wyoming). This includes students who are enrolled in public or private schools, students who are home-schooled, and those involved in organizations outside of the traditional school setting.

 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Anatomy
Astronomy
Biology
Chemistry
Ecology
Geology
Marine Biology
Paleontology
Physics
Zoology