12/11/17 Lackawanna Library will be closing at 2:00 PM today
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Geology

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Academic Onefile
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Virtual Tour

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover". Geology articles can be found in Air & Space, The Atlantic, Newsweek International, Popular Science, Science Illustrated, Science News, Slate (USA) and Smithsonian

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

Science in Context
For those seeking information on today's most significant science topics. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

American Museum of Natural History Research Library
AMNH scientific publications disseminate the results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology.  The Smithsonian also has a Department of Mineral Sciences that features exhibitions, programs, facilities, research and a seminar series.

The Geological Society of America
GSA is a leader in advancing the geosciences, enhancing the professional growth of its members, and promoting the geosciences in the service to humankind.

Geology.com
Geology and Earth Science current events, news, articles, dictionary, satellite images, career information, reference maps, and more.

National Park Service - Geology
Geologic resources and the dynamic processes that affect them.  A site for educational resources and links for teaching geology.

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (Division of Mineral Resources)
The database includes more than 33,000 wells and 2,500 surface mines. DEC staff use GIS software and Global Positioning Systems (GPS) equipment to map the locations accurately.

U.S. Geological Survey – Geology Research and Information
Federal source for science about the Earth, its natural and living resources, natural hazards, and the environment.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Geological Society
The purpose of this Society engages and encourages the study of Geological Sciences, the Lapidary Arts, the collection of fossils, minerals and rocks and to promote exhibits and sponsor excursions and field trips for the aforementioned purposes.

Buffalo Museum of Science
Approximately 200,000 specimens are housed in the Museum's Geology Division. The collection started in the 1860's and displays a richness surprising in a mid-sized museum.

Niagara Gorge Discovery Center
The Niagara Gorge Discovery Center showcases the natural and local history of Niagara Falls and the Niagara Gorge.

Penn Dixie Paleontological and Outdoor Education Center
Owned and operated by the Hamburg Historical Society, the site provides geological activities such as searching for fossils and on site tours for schools.

University at Buffalo – Map & Geography Government Resources
A wealth of resources with maps, GIS data, and other geologic survey information that cover WNY, New York State, the United States, Canada, and other international areas. Search the catalog for atlases, maps, and cartographic materials.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Engineering Geology
Geochemistry
Geology
Geomorphology
Geophysics
Mineralogy
Petrology
Seismology
Volcanoes