Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

German Heritage

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


 

Databases

Ancestry Library
A genealogical and historical research tool that provides access to city directories, U.S. Federal Census records between 1790 and 1930, immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records. It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical records.  For use at any library.  Virtual Tour

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. Virtual Tour

HeritageQuest Online
U.S. Federal census records from 1790-1930, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, and genealogical and local history serials from the Periodical Source Index (PERSI).  It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical information.  Virtual Tour

History Reference Center
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos.  Virtual Tour

Pronunciator
Pronunciator is a language resource database offering instruction for beginner, intermediate and advanced students in 80 foreign languages. It also offers English instruction for speakers of 50 foreign languages including Arabic, Bengali, Nepali, Somali, Spanish and Vietnamese. 

 

Websites

German Originality
The German National Tourist Office and German Information Center USA provide a wealth of information about German history, ancestry, and tradition.  Included are links to genealogy research sites and an interactive map that details notable people, places, and events in German History.

History of German American Relations
The US Diplomatic Mission to Germany provides detailed information on the historical relationship between the US and Germany.  For each era of shared history, this site provides an overview of events, biographies, images, teaching resources, and reproductions of important original documents.  

 

Community and Local Links

BuffaloGerman.com
The Federation Of German American Societies consists of twelve organizations whose shared purpose is to promote German culture in Western New York.  Find information on local history, cultural groups, and upcoming events.

Archavia: German History in Buffalo and Erie County
This site presents a digitized edition of an 1898 Library of Congress manuscript detailing the history of German settlers in Buffalo.  Includes illustrations, maps, photos, and detailed biographies of important figures. 

German-American History in Buffalo
This site assembles information from a variety of esteemed published sources in order to provide a detailed account of the history of Polish Americans in Western New York.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

German-American History 
German Art
German Cooking
German Literature and Poetry
German Music
History of Germany