12/12/17 Bookmobile Colden stop and Cultural Literacy Event at J.T. Waugh Elementary are cancelled.
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Green Living

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases 

Consumer Reports 
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1985 to the present.  Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

MasterFILE Premier
Contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 19,000 pro/con viewpoints and 13,000 topic overviews. Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more. NOVELnyVirtual Tour 

 

Websites  

Earth Day
Events & activities, project resources & ideas, and more from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

Environmental Health & Toxicology
Contains Household Products Database and authoritative information on health topics.

The Green Guide
Presented by National Geographic, this site provides green tips for everyday living.  Topics include Home and Garden, Personal Care, Kids, Travel and Food.  There are also buying guides, a blog and a free email newsletter.

Green Living
Canadian publication and portal offering information about organics, health, the environment, and eco-consumer products.

Green Living News
Blogs, news, and community conversations about green living from The Huffington Post.

Green Living Tips
Tips that make it easy to go green from The Nature Conservancy.

Greener Choices
Consumer Reports has created a resource for products and their green ratings.  In addition to featuring green shopping, the site covers recent environmental topics, eco-labels and recycling.

Household Products Database
Health & safety information on houehold products - Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling.

Mother Nature Network
Features information on sustainable living.  Sections include Natural Beauty & Fashion, Food & Drink, Organic Farming & Gardening, Recycling, Transportation, Technology and more. 

NY State Department of Environmental Conservation
Green living tips and resources for making environmentally responsible choices in your daily life.

U.S. Green Building Council
This organization is a non-profit community of leaders working to make green buildings available to everyone within a generation.  This site provides resources for Green Jobs in addition to LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification resources and news articles.

 

Community and Local Links 

Buffalo Green Code
The City of Buffalo’s Unified Development Ordinance, which is now being written, will embrace the walkable, mixed-use places that give the city a competitive edge.

Buffalo Recycling
Information on the City's recycling rules and events.

Buffalo ReUse
Buffalo ReUse, Inc. is committed to creating an economic and community development program related to deconstruction and re-use that provides quality job, educational, and volunteer opportunities; cross training in the trades, marketing, sales, and small business entrepreneurship; and a community collaboration process that considers both current and future use of our collective land resources.

Electronics Recycling Events
Sunnking Electronics' free residential electronics recycling schedule at locations throughout Western New York.

Erie County Waste Management & Recycling
Links and phone numbers to find out where to recycle electronics, hazardous waste, car batteries, and pharmaceutical waste.

GO Bike Buffalo
Healthy, environmentally sustainable, and community-friendly transportation with a calendar of upcoming events.

GrowWNY 
GrowWNY is a new local source of information about living green in Western New York.  This website is for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, cares about the environment and wants to know the best places to go and things to do to eat, live, work and play greener.

Tifft Nature Preserve
Tifft Nature Preserve is a 264-acre nature refuge dedicated to conservation and environmental education.

WNY Sustainable Energy Association
WNY Sustainable Energy Association is a non-profit community organization dedicated to sustainable energy solutions – practices, designs, technologies, policies, and programs  that promote energy conservation and efficiency in conjunction with solar and other renewable energy resources.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Environmental Protection
Global Warming
Green Living
Green Products
Natural Foods
Organic Living
Recycling
Sustainability