Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Health Care Reform

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

This Guide is intended as a starting point for individuals who wish to  dig deep into the issues and consequences surrounding Healthcare Reform. This Guide seeks to help the user address the following aspects of Healthcare in America today by examining the history of healthcare in the United States and healthcare systems from across the globe.

 

Here are five facets of the healthcare system you will be able to explore using this Guide.

1. The demand side (patients or their agents, private and public health insurers, who procure health care and pay for that care)

2. The supply side (the providers of health care and of health care products)

3. The health-insurance system, intended to protect individuals and households from excessive financial loss due to medical bills, and also to help patients procure health care at negotiated prices

4.The information infrastructure supporting and linking patients, insurers and providers of care with one another, and

5. The regulatory infrastructure intended to keep transactions in this market honorable, fair to both sides, and oriented toward the ultimate social goals of a health system.

From Defining ‘Health Care Reform’By UWE E. REINHARDT 

 

Databases

Academic Onefile
Contains extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.  To find information on the Healthcare reform, choose Subject Guide from the yellow tabs and type in "Health Care Reform". The search tool will display over 5,000 matches that you can limit by type of publication, by sub-topic or date. Virtual Tour

Health Reference Center Academic
Using this search tool you will find articles from magazines and scholarly journals, excerpts from books, videos and newspapers. To find information on this topic, choose Subject Guide from the yellow tabs and type in "Health Care Reform". The search tool will display over 5,000 matches that you can limit by type of publication, by sub-topic or date. Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. A great place to get your research started.Virtual Tour 

 

Websites

Common Health
News, conversation and smart analysis of healthcare and healthcare reform from WBUR in Boston

Congressional Budget Office (CBO) - Health
CBO prepares projections of federal health care spending under current law and analyzes proposals that would change federal health care policies.

For All the People: A Century of Citizen Action in Healthcare Reform - Online Exhibition
Explores the role of activism and citizen groups related to public health services with resources such as online activities, lesson plans, and more.

Health Care Incentives Improvement Institute, Inc.
(HCI3) is a not-for-profit multi-stakeholder organization focused on improving health care quality and value with evidence-based incentive programs and a fair and powerful model for payment reform.

Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For 3 decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time

RAND- Bing Center for Health Economics
Improving health and the efficiency of health care service delivery are among today's most vexing public policy problems. RAND economists have a long and distinguished history of applying innovative research methods to such problems.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Publications - Health Reform
A private foundation whose mission is to improve the health and health care of all Americans. Read research and opinions about the health reform from this well-respected source.

Sick Around the World
PBS FRONTLINE series examines the way 5 different countries provide healthcare. Watch the program, follow discussions, find out more.

Story of Medicare: A Timeline
A seven minute film from the Kaiser Family Foundation.

US Healthcare vs The World 
An inforgraphic from the Milken Institute School of Public Health at the George Washington University using 2013 World Health Organization's World Health statistics Report

World Health Organization Assesses the World's Health Systems
The World Health Organization has carried out the first ever analysis of the world's health systems using five performance indicators to measure health systems in 191 member states. Find out who provides the best care overall and how the United States ranked among the 191 countries studied.

 

Community and Local Links

Community Health Needs Assessment 2016-2018 Catholic Health
An in-depth plan including area demographics, health indicators, prevention priorities and other community needs.

Community Health Needs Assessment 2017-2018 Kaleida Health
An in-depth plan including area demographics, health indicators, prevention priorities and other community needs.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps - Erie County
Learn about health issues facing Erie County. See how we stack-up next to other counties in the state.

Erie County New York Community Health Assessment 2017-2019
 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Healthcare Reform
Health Insurance- law and legislation- United States
Health Policy- United States
Healthy People 2010 

Category-Term: