Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Healthy Eating

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

These links are not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.

Databases

Culinary Arts Collection
The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information. 

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of  topics from magazines such as Environmental Nutrition, Flex, Food and Drink, Good Health, Redbook, Women's Health, and Women's Health Weekly. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.   Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
A consumer’s best source of information comes from product reviews and comparisons. Before you buy, compare products and services the best you can. A little bit of research could save you a lot of grief and money. MasterFILE Premier is an excellent resource for full-text access to Better Nutrition, Men's Fitness, Men's Health, Nutrition Action Health Letter, Prevention, Real Simple, Shape, Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter, and Women's Sports & Fitness.   Virtual Tour

 

Websites

General Nutrition

ChooseMyPlate
This site by the U.S. Department of Agriculture offers personalized eating plans and interactive tools to help you plan/assess your food choices.  

Diet Rankings From U.S. News and World Report
U.S. News evaluated 38 of the most popular diets and identified the best. Find which top-rated diet is best for your health and fitness goals.

Eat Right
Solid nutritional information for the public, students and professionals from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. The site includes tips on nutrition for persons with special dietary needs. For up-to-date reviews of popular diet books, click on "media" at the top of the page.

Healthy Eating Research
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's site on research to prevent obesity in children.

Healthy Food Trends From MedlinePlus.gov
Have questions about kale, chia seeds or quinoa? Find out how these and many other foods can contribute to a healthy diet.

Healthy Weight
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention offers information for healthy eating and cutting calories, recipes, and tips for parents to help their children develop healthy eating habits for life.

Nutrition Blog Network
Collection of blogs written by registered dietitians.

The Nutrition Source
Harvard's School of Public Health site featuring the University's research into nutrition, healthy lifestyle and disease prevention.

Simple Cooking with Heart Cooking Skills Video Collection American Heart Association
Simple nutritious recipes with video instruction so you won't miss a thing. Get cooking!

What's Cooking? from the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) This database offers over 1400 recipes that can be filtered by program (like Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program), course, food group focus, nutrients focus, cooking equipment used, cuisine type (American, Asian, Latin American/Hispanic, Native American, vegetarian, etc.), total cost of recipe, total calories, saturated fat, and sodium per serving.  Each recipe can be easily printed and includes full nutrition information, simple cooking instructions, and reviews of the recipe from other users.       

Special Diets

Diabetes
Food and fitness advice plus hundreds of recipes created for people with diabetes from the American Diabetes Association.

Food Allergies
The Food Allergy Research and Education website page on managing food allergies at home, work and in school.

Celiac Cisease & Gluten Intolerance
The gluten-free resource directory by the Celiac Disease Foundation. All about gluten, gluten-free eating and resources for gluten-free products.

Heart Disease
Low-fat, low salt diet information from the American Heart Association including sample menus, how-to cooking videos and links to more specific information. 

Hypertension (High Blood Pressure) 
Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) diet, is based on an eating plan proven to lower blood pressure, a plan rich in fruits, vegetables, and low-fat or nonfat dairy. It emphasizes whole grains and contains less refined grains compared with a typical diet. 

Irritable Bowel Disease
The Crohn's & Colitis Foundation of America's dietary guidelines for sufferers of IBD.

Kidney Disease
The National Kidney Foundation's site for information on nutrition and diet.

Lactose Intolerance
Overview and links to approved sites from MedlinePlus.gov

Pregnancy
Eating Well Magazine's recipes and menus for expectant moms.

Vegetarian/Vegan
The Vegetarian Resource Group site supplies information on vegetarian and vegan nutrition plus recipes.  Find vegetarian and vegan restaurants in New York State through its restaurant guide.

 

Community and Local Links 

Eat Smart NY Western Region
Eat Smart New York (ESNY) Nutrition Education is FREE to all individuals who qualify for and/or receive benefits through the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). ESNY provides nutrition education materials and sponsors education events and classes in local communities on a variety of nutrition topics.

Erie County Medical Center's Heart Healthy Eating 
Information on the DASH (Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension) Diet plus some recipes.

Healthy Options Buffalo 
Independent Health Foundation's guide to healthy dining in Western New York with nutritional analysis of local restaurant fare, dining tips, and calorie counter.

WNY Vegfest
Featuring speakers, exhibitors, vendors, live music, delicious & healthy food, rescue animals, children’s activities, performances, a 5K and more!

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Allergy-free diets
Diet therapy
Gluten-free diets
High-protein diets
Hypertension reducing diets
Low-calorie diets
Low-carbohydrate diets
Low-cholesterol diets
Milk-free diets
Nutrition 
Obesity prevention
Reducing diets
Salt-free diets
Sugar-free diets
Veganism
Vegetarianism