Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Hispanic Heritage

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

 

Databases

Ancestry Library
A genealogical and historical research tool that provides access to city directories, U.S. Federal Census records between 1790 and 1930, immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records. It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical records.  For use at any library.  Virtual Tour

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. Virtual Tour

HeritageQuest Online
U.S. Federal census records from 1790-1930, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, and genealogical and local history serials from the Periodical Source Index (PERSI).  It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical information.  Virtual Tour

History Reference Center
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos.  Virtual Tour

Pronunciator  
Pronunciator is a language resource database offering instruction for beginner, intermediate, and advanced students in 80 foreign languages. It also offers English instruction for speakers of 50 foreign languages including Arabic, Bengali, Nepali, Somali, Spanish and Vietnamese.

 

Recursos en Español

Britannica Escola
Contenido de Britannica en espanol para hablantes nativos de espanol, estudiantes bilingues, y estudiantes que aprenden espanol. Virtual Tour

Informe Academico
Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa. La base de datos ofrece una amplia gama de contenidos sobre América Latina. (Informe Académico provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.) 

MedlinePlus Spanish
MedlinePlus le ayuda encontrar las respuestas que usted busca en temas de salud. MedlinePlus ha recopilado la información más confiable proveniente de fuentes autorizadas tales como la Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina y los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud, así como otras agencias gubernamentales y organizaciones de servicios para la salud. MedlinePlus también le ofrece mucha información sobre medicamentos, una enciclopedia médica ilustrada, programas interactivos para el paciente y las más recientes noticias acerca de la salud. Este website necesita acceso al internet. Si estas trabajando en una computadora en la biblioteca, por favor consulta los empleyados para acceso al internet.

 

 

 

Websites

Latin Business Today
Hispanic Business focuses on growth developments in the U.S. Hispanic market, economic trends, diversity, philanthropy, supply chain development, best business practices, and career development opportunities.  The company delivers research-driven content to the nation's top policymakers and powerbrokers.

Hispanic Heritage Month
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society.

 

Community and Local Links

Latin American Cultural Association
The Latin American Cultural Association uses arts as a vehicle to inspire cross-cultural understanding, making the rich cultural heritage of the indigenous people of Latin America accessible to everyone through community education, cultural programs, and our fair trade storefront.

Latin American Institute
The Latin American Institute provides instruction in conversational Spanish, Portuguese, French, and Italian for English speakers in Western New York.

The Puerto Rican and Hispanic Day Parade of Western New York
The Puerto Rican and Hispanic Day Parade of Western New York Association has a website that includes information about upcoming events.

Western New York Hispanic Heritage Council
The Hispanic Heritage Council of WNY Inc. is a nonprofit organization that exists to foster and inspire awareness, understanding, and appreciation of past, present, and future contributions of the Hispanic Community in Western New York.  This site also provides access to the B&ECPL's Hispanic Heritage History Project, a growing digital collection of photos, documents, and oral histories concerning WNY's Hispanic Community.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

English as a Second Language for Portuguese Speakers
English as a Second Language for Spanish Speakers
Hispanic-American Biographies
Hispanic-American History
History of the Carribean
History of Central America
History of Mexico
History of Portugal
History of South America
History of Spain
Latin American Art
Latin American Cooking
Latin American Literature
Latin American Music

Latin American Poetry
Portuguese Language Learning
Spanish Language Learning
Spanish Art
Spanish Cooking
Spanish Literature
Spanish Music
Spanish Poetry