asdasd
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Home Improvements

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 


 

Databases

Consumer Reports

Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present.  Virtual Tour

 

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection
Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.

 

Home Improvement Collection
Even the smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more. 

 

ReferenceUSA Business
When looking for reliable companies it is best to compare businesses and Reference USA is a great starting point. Reference USA includes 12 million nationwide business listings searchable by name, location, and line of business, how long the company has been business, news articles, size and other details.  Virtual Tour

 

 

Websites

Better Business Bureau

Consumer home improvement and living tips.

 

DIY Network
Find projects, how-tos and experts' advice.

 

Do It Yourself
Home repair projects and how-to articles.

 

Environmental Protection Agency’s Energy Star website
Information on rebate programs, energy tax credits, stores where you can find Energy Star products.

 

The Family Handyman

Search do-it-yourself projects and home repair tips.

 

HGTV

Featuring topics about decorating, landscaping, real estate, and home improvement solutions.

 

Home Advisor
Free resource to locate professionals for projects, with reviews and local & national cost data.

 

This Old House

This website provides advice on home improvement, remodeling, upgrades, and tools for various projects.

 

U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development

Whether you want to fix a faucet or add a new addition to your home, you need to know the facts and the pitfalls of home improvements.  The U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development provides some sources that can help.

 

 

Community and Local Links

City of Buffalo Licensed Contractors list

Provides contractor license numbers, information on building permits, inspections and fees.

 

Buffalo ReUse
Buffalo ReUse, Inc. is committed to creating an economic and community development program related to deconstruction and re-use that provides quality job, educational, and volunteer opportunities; cross training in the trades, marketing, sales, and small business entrepreneurship; and a community collaboration process that considers both current and future use of our collective land resources.
 

Home Improvement Council of WNY

You can use the site to search for contractors in the Buffalo, NY and WNY area by name, by job category, or to post your home improvement job.

 

Super Pages - Yellow Pages for Buffalo, New York

A yellow pages listing of companies that work on home improvement projects, which includes ratings by customers.

 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Bathrooms

Basements 

Carpentry

Do-it-yourself

Flooring & Tiling

Home Repair

Insulation

Kitchens

Landscaping

Outdoor Projects

Painting & Wallpapering

Porches, Decks & Patios

Plumbing

Remodeling

Roofing & Siding

Sheds

Window Treatments