Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Irish Heritage

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


 

 

Databases

Ancestry Library
A genealogical and historical research tool that provides access to city directories, U.S. Federal Census records between 1790 and 1930, immigration, vital, military, court, church, and ethnic records. It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical records.  For use at any library.  Virtual Tour

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.  Virtual Tour

HeritageQuest Online 
U.S. Federal census records from 1790-1930, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, and genealogical and local history serials from the Periodical Source Index (PERSI). It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical information. Virtual Tour

History Reference Center
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

Irish American Journey 
Irish American Journey advances Irish American culture, Irish American heritage, and greater understanding of the Irish American experience through the lens of Irish immigration and Irish American history.  In addition to a wealth of historical data, this site provides country wide directories of Irish cultural societies, entertainment groups, genealogical organizations, and heritage based learning institutions.

Irish Central
Irish Central is the leading Irish digital media company in North America, providing political, current affairs, entertainment, and historical commentary to the Irish throughout the world.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Irish Center
The Buffalo Irish Center is home to over a dozen non-profit Irish-American organizations, each promoting a different aspect of its culture.  Information about local educational opportunties and a calendar of upcoming events are provided along with links to all of the Irish Center's resident organizations.

History of Irish Americans in Buffalo NY
This site provides a detailed historical account of the growth of Irish Culture in Western New York. 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

History of Ireland 
Irish-American History
Irish Art 
Irish Cooking 
Irish Literature
Irish Music
Irish Poetry