Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Italian Heritage

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Ancestry Library
A genealogical and historical research tool that provides access to city directories, U.S. Federal Census records between 1790 and 1930, immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records. It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical records.  For use at any library.  Virtual Tour

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.  Virtual Tour

HeritageQuest Online
U.S. Federal census records from 1790-1930, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, and genealogical and local history serials from the Periodical Source Index (PERSI).  It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical information. For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.  Virtual Tour

History Reference Center
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos. Virtual Tour   

Pronunciator
Pronunciator is a language resource database offering instruction for beginner, intermediate and advanced students in 80 foreign languages. It also offers English instruction for speakers of 50 foreign languages including Arabic, Bengali, Nepali, Somali, Spanish and Vietnamese.

 

Websites

Italian Historical Society of America
The Italian Historical Society of America was founded in 1949 in order to help perpetuate the names of those of Italian heritage who have contributed to the advancement of mankind and inspired others.  In addition to biographies of famous Italian Americans, this site provides a directory of Italian American organizations and full editions of the organization’s newsletter. 

The National Italian American Foundation 
The National Italian American Foundation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, educational foundation that promotes Italian American culture and heritage.  NIAF serves as an informative resource on the Italian American community, its educational and youth programs include scholarships, grants, mentoring, and heritage travel.  The NIAF resource section includes a wealth of information about Italian American history, culture, and demographics.  

United States Citizenship - Italian American History and Culture
The US Citizenship website provides an overview of Italian American history complete with links to official government records and primary historical sources.

 

Community and Local Links

History of Italian Americans in Buffalo 
This site assembles information from a variety of esteemed published sources in order to provide a detailed account of the history of Italian Americans in Western New York.

UB Libraries: The Italian Community of Buffalo and the Pan American Exposition
University at Buffalo Libraries presents a review of the Italian American contribution to the 1901 Pan American Exposition.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

History of Italy 
Italian-American History
Italian Art
Italian Cooking
Italian Literature
Italian Poetry
Italian Music