Hamburg Public Library parking lot will be closed on Friday & Saturday, June 23 & 24th for repaving. The Library will be open both days.
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Job and Career Resources

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Job seeker

 

Databases

Business Insights:  Essentials
Detailed company and industry news and information from company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, periodicals and more. NOVELny. Virtual Tour

Job Now
Provides you with practical tools to help you get a job. Features four services to choose from: Resume, Job Interviews, Career, and Adult Learners.  Virtual Tour

Reference USA
Includes 24 million nationwide business listings searchable by name, location, line of business, size and other details. This product is for personal non-commercial use only. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

Career Information 

Haz-Map
Occupational health and toxicology database designed to link jobs to hazardous job tasks that are linked to occupational diseases and their symptoms.

Occupational Outlook Handbook 
This classic source contains job descriptions, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

Salary Calculator
Measure your job compensation in this database by searching on job title and location.

Ultimate Job Security Guide
This guide has been created by CBS' Money Watch and has good advice for a job search. 

Civil Service Exams

City of Buffalo
Lists current civil service job openings in the city of Buffalo

Erie County
Lists current civil service exam postings in Erie County. This website includes a printable application form.

New York State
Examination postings for jobs in New York State. It includes a printable application form.

New York State Unified Court System
Lists current exams and has a statewide examination schedule. It also includes a printable application form.

USAJOBS
 The U.S. Government's official site for jobs and employment information. It includes current federal job openings and an online application form.

Test Preparation

Erie County Civil Service Study Guides
This website contains study guides for select Erie County Civil Service Exams.

Test Guides and Resource Booklets for Local Examinations
This website contains study guides for local New York State Civil Service Exams.

Test Guides and Resource Booklets for State Examinations
This website contains study guides for select New York State Civil Service Exams

Resumes, Cover Letters and Interviews

JobHuntersBible.com
This is the official site for the book What Color Is Your Parachute. It includes information on creating resumes and cover letters, provides job hunting advice and career counseling.

LinkedIn
Create an online resume and make connections with past or present colleagues and former classmates. Used by over 40 million people to exchange job information, ideas and opportunities.

Monster.com Resumes & Letters
Provides resume and cover letter tips as well as samples of both.

Monster.com Interviewing
Provides assistance with interview preparation and questions.  

 

Local Job Search Assistance

The Buffalo Employment and Training Center
This center offers career counseling, skills assessment, job listings, computer training classes and networking opportunities free of charge. Computers with Internet access help you perform job searches, send electronic resumes, and search career sites.

ECC One Stop Center
This center helps jobseekers access the skills they need to obtain employment while linking qualified jobseekers to hiring employers. All services are cost-free. Explore alternative career paths, upgrade your computer skills, compare salary data for different occupations, learn which careers are hot, get résumé writing tips and job interview strategies.

New York State Department of Labor
The Department of Labor's Job Express webpage lists job openings available in New York State by region.

Reentry Services within Erie County
Links to mentoring services, vocational guidance and job training and placement for ex-offenders.

UB Educational Opportunity Center
This center offers vocational training programs that lead to gainful employment. They also provide civil service exam preparation as well as career planning.

Local Jobs

Buffalo Help Wanted
Browse Buffalo area jobs and post your resume.

Buffalo Job Finder
Search local job postings through The Buffalo News and post your resume. 

Western New York Jobs
Find local career training opportunities and search help-wanted ads. Also offers email notification for job listings, information about career fairs, and open interviews.

 

Library Materials
Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Career Development
Civil Service Examinations
Cover Letters
Employment Interviewing
Job Hunting
LinkedIn
Resumes
Vocational Guidance for ex-offenders
Vocational Interests