Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Kids' Resources

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Britannica School
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject--for all grades Pre-K-12 and all reading abilities--offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases--Elementary, Middle, or High. Virtual Tour

Kids InfoBits
Kids InfoBits contains over 100 age appropriate magazines for students in kindergarten through grade five.  Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps. flags, seals, charts, and graphs. Virtual Tour

Middle Search Plus  
Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 170 popular middle school magazines as well as more than 103,000 biographies and historical essays.   Virtual Tour

Novelist K-8
NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. It will help young readers answer the question of what to read next. Virtual Tour

Primary Search 
Containing full-text for nearly 100 of the most popular children’s magazines, Primary Search is designed specifically to help elementary school students. Virtual Tour

 

Websites 

Great Websites for Kids
Fantastic, fun and informative websites for kids from birth to age 14, selected and reviewed by the American Library Association.

Interactive Learning Sites for Education
K-5 online, interactive, educational games and simulations in one place. These activities work great with a SMARTboard or interactive whiteboard for whole group or small group instruction, use in the computer lab or at home for individual learning.

IPL2 for Kids
"Information you can trust!" Homework help for history, math, science and more, and even an "Ask a Librarian" option.  This site also includes links for fun stuff like arts & crafts and games.

 

Community and Local Links 

B&ECPL Kids Corner
Homework help, reading lists, cool websites and much, much more.

Buffalo Museum of Science
Find out about the latest exhibits and programs offered at the Museum of Science.

Buffalo Zoo
Information about the animals, programs, special events and fun kids' things to do at the zoo.

Explore & More Children's Museum
Tons of Hands-on activities and exhibits for kids age 1-10.

Fun 4 Kids
Comprehensive resource for family activities in the Buffalo and WNY area. Browse activities by location, holiday, indoor events and check out the “Mom Reviews” section.

Kids Out and About
Online resource for kids and family activities/attractions in WNY

Strong National Museum of Play 
Information about things to see and do at this Western New York Museum. If you can't visit the museum, check out the link to Fun and Games.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

American History
Ancient History
Animals
Art
Bugs
Dinosaurs
Encyclopedias
Geography
Grammar
How Things Work
Math
Music
Native Americans
Plants
Science Experiments
Space