Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

LGBTQ Resources

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

LQBTQ - rainbow
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender  and Queer (LGBTQ) Resources

 

Databases

MasterFile Premier
MasterFILE Premier is an excellent resource which contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Find reasearch overviews, magazine and newspaper articles, film clips and scholarly reviews. A great place to get your research started. Virtual Tour 

 

Websites

ACLU - LGBT Rights
Works to ensure that lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people can live openly without discrimination and enjoy equal rights, personal autonomy, and freedom of expression and association

The Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) 
GLAAD works with print, broadcast and online news sources to bring people powerful stories from the LGBT community that build support for equality.

GayYA
Website and blog dedicated to everything LGBTQIA+, containing author interviews and reviews for Young Adult literature. There is also a Queer YA Masterlist divided into six sections: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, and Asexual/Aromantic.

Gender Identity Development in Children
Article discusses how parents can promote healthy gender development in children.

Huffington Post - LGBT History
The online news source also contains sections for LGBT Wellness, Gay Voices News, and more.

Human Rights Watch - LGBT Rights
Human Rights Watch works for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people’s rights, with activists representing a multiplicity of identities and issues.

It Gets Better Project
The It Gets Better Project's mission is to communicate to lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender youth around the world that it gets better, and to create and inspire the changes needed to make it better for them

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
Health topics presented by the CDC. This link is not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.

LGBT New York Wedding Guide
LGBT-friendly wedding venues, planners, ceremony officiants, photographers and honeymoon destinations.

LGBTQ Nation
Online news magazine, reporting on issues relevant to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer community.

National LGBTQ Task Force
Advances full freedom, justice and equality for LGBTQ people.

Rainbow Book List
Annual bibliography of quality books with significant and authentic GLBTQ content, which are recommended for people from birth through eighteen years of age.  Created by the Rainbow Book List Committee of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association.

Straight for Equality
Provides information and resources that will help straight allies understand their role in supporting and advocating for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people.

The Trevor Project
National organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) young people ages 13-24.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Gay Men's Chorus
Dedicated to producing vocal music of high quality in the rich tradition of men’s choral singing. 

Buffalo Pride Festival
The week of celebration included a Flag Raising Ceremony, Gay 5K, Chroma (an art opening hosted in memory of longtime LGBT supporter Jim Rolls), the Dyke March, Allen Street Festival, Pride Parade, and Pride Festival at Canalside.

Buffalo United Artists
BUA is committed to uniting the finest performers in the city to bring you a provocative array of plays.

embraceWNY
Dedicated to equality and fairness within Western New York and seeks to raise awareness, understanding and acceptance of the LGBT community amongst all citizens.

Gay & Lesbian Youth Services of Western New York
GLYS offers a variety of opportunities & services for gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender & questioning youth and their friends, ages 14-21.

Loop Magazine  (Facebook Page)
Buffalo LGBT newspaper available online and in print.

MOCHA Center
The Center's mission is to improve the health and wellness of LGBT Communities of Color. 

Parents & Friends of Lesbians & Gays of Buffalo (PFLAG) 
PFLAG's mission is to promote the health and well-being of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered people, their families, and friends through support, education and advocacy.

Pride Center of Western New York
The mission of the Pride Center is to work with the community to make Western New York a safe, healthy, and satisfying place for LGBTQ people to live, work, and establish their families.This is a comprehensive site providing access to various services and contains a directory of resources for the area.

Queen City Softball League
Buffalo NY’s gay and lesbian softball league that promotes relaxed and friendly sports competition to men and women of the community.  Primary focus is on slow-pitch softball, for all persons, with a special emphasis the gay and lesbian communities.

Silver Pride Project (Facebook Page)

The Silver Pride Project, led by the Pride Center of WNY, provides a range of services and activities for LGBT people over 50.

Spectrum - Transgender Group of WNY
Support, education, outreach and advocacy.

Visit Buffalo Niagara
Buffalo’s warmth, friendliness, commitment to history, dedication to art and culture and fighting underdog spirit make it a great city for LGBT visitors.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.