Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Managing Your Health

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

**These links are not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.**

Databases

Consumer Reports
Full-text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present. Virtual Tour To use this resource, click on “Consumer Reports” link.  Click on “Search within this publication” a blue link on the upper left of the page.  Click on “Advanced Search” and type your topic in the box(es) below “JN “Consumer Reports” .

ReferenceUSA Health Care
Reference USA Health Care includes 855,000 physician and dentist listings throughout the U.S. This product is for personal non-commercial use only.

Websites

Find-Choose-Communicate with a Healthcare Provider

Agency for Healthcare and Research Quality (AHRQ)
Questions to ask your doctor

AMA DoctorFinder
DoctorFinder provides you with basic professional information on virtually every licensed physician in the United States. This includes more than 814,000 doctors. 

American Cancer Society - Stay Healthy
Healthy living information to help you stay well.

Center for Advancing Health - Be a Prepared Patient ®
Be a Prepared Patient can help you make informed decisions about your health and health care. Find a collection of trusted resources, tips and stories from patients, caregivers, and health care experts about finding good care and making the most of it. Be a Prepared Patient accepts no corporate sponsorship, earns no revenue from any links and is completely free of advertising.

My Health Counts
Three videos previously aired on WNEDThinkBright. Partnering with your doctor, Self-Management and Quest for Quality. Also includes links to help you form a better relationship with your healthcare provider.

New York State Doctor Profile
Provides information on a physician’s education, practice, and professional activities.   Under Legal Actions, see if there are any malpractice suits filed against him or her.

New York State Office of the Professions -License Verification
Find out if your health care provider is licensed to practice in New York State. Find not only doctors, dentists and nurses but also massage therapists, acupuncturists and more. Search by profession, then by name.

Keeping Track of Your Health

MyMedSchedule.Com
Free and secure way to keep track of medication schedules, send text or email reminders and more. Make it easy on yourself and be sure to take you medications at the right time every day.

My Family Health Portrait
The Surgeon General's "My Family Health Portrait" is an internet-based tool that makes it easy for you to record your family health history. The tool is easy to access on the web and simple to fill out. It assembles your information and makes a "pedigree" family tree that you can download. It is private--it does not keep your information. It gives you a health history that you can share with family members or send to your health care practitioner.

Who Will Speak for You?
Information about health care proxy in New York State. Download the forms in English and six other languages.

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Communication in medicine -talking with your doctor
Physician directories
Savvy Healthcare Consumer

 

Category-Term: