Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Mental Health

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

These links are not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.

 Databases

Health Reference Center Academic
Find full-text of nursing and allied health journals plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. Virtual Tour
 

Websites

Internet Mental Health
Developed and maintained by a Canadian psychiatrist, this site provides information for both healthcare professionals and consumers. Topics include adult and childhood disorders, psychiatric medications, and the latest research. There is also an online directory.

Mental Help Net
Includes information on mental health, depression, anxiety, wellness, family and relationship issues, and more.

National Institute of Mental Health 
The official site of the National Institute of Mental Health, this site provides information for professionals and consumers on mental disorders. Various publications are also available en Espanol.

New York State Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
Information on addictions, treatment, recovery and wellness.

Psych Central
Psych Central is the Internet's largest and oldest independent mental health and psychology network. 

Psychiatry.org American Psychiatric Association- Patients and Families pages
Learn about common mental disorders, including symptoms, risk factors and treatment options. Find answers to your questions written by leading psychiatrists, stories from people living with mental illness and links to additional resources.

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Psychiatric Center
Recovery from mental illness is possible. Buffalo Psychiatric Center provides comprehensive mental health services that promote recovery to individuals 18 years of age and older. Our service area includes the four counties of Erie, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, and Niagara.

Crisis Services
More than just a suicide/mental health crisis hotline, this site provides access to services for homelessness as well as training and education.

Compeer of Greater Buffalo
Compeer recruits, screens, and matches trained volunteers and mentors in one-to-one supportive friendship relationships with children, adults and seniors who are receiving mental health treatment.

Erie County Department of Mental Health Services
Single Point of Access (SPOA)- To help each mental health consumer who is referred to the Program to achieve and maintain stability through linkage with the most effective and least restrictive services available.

Horizon Health Services
Horizon Health Services is a not-for-profit corporation that provides an array of comprehensive services to assist individuals with mental health and/or substance abuse issues to make choices that improve their quality of life and achieve their personal recovery goals. 

Lake Shore Behavioral Health, inc. 
Lake Shore Behavioral Health, Inc. provides a comprehensive array of treatment and rehabilitation services to promote self-sufficiency, wellness and recovery, and an enhanced quality of life for individuals with mental health and addictive disorders.

Mental Health Association of WNY
MHA promotes the mental health and well-being of the community through education, public information, prevention programs and training while supporting individuals and families living with mental illness through advocacy, treatment linkage and outreach services.

National Alliance on Mental Illness in Buffalo & Western New York (NAMI)
An organization of  volunteers with many years of experience in dealing with the illnesses of their own relatives and with the mental health system who are committed to assisting, educating, and supporting other families in similarly difficult situations.

Restoration Society
Assists all persons with mental health conditions to be successful and satisfied in environments of their choice. Provides training, mentoring, housing support and other essential resources.
 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog. 

Bipolar Disorder
Depression
Eating Disorders
Mental Health (general)
Mental Illness (general)
Personality Disorders
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

 

Category-Term: