Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Movies

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

For a list of the new movies the Library offers, click here

 

Databases

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Please note that the years indicated are for full-text articles only. : CineAction (2001+), Cinema Journal (1998+) Film Criticism (1997+), Film and History (2003+), Film History (2000+), and Journal of Popular Film and Televison  1992-2009).  Virtual Tour

Biography in Context
If you're looking for biographical information about film directors, actors, actresses, and producers, you'll find authoritative reference sources, magazine articles and multimedia presentations in this database. Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
Full text articles for 1,935 magazines including: Entertainment Weekly (1993+), Film Comment (2002+), Film Journal International (2002+), People (1994+), Rolling Stone  (1990+) and Variety (July, 1999+). Please note that the years indicated above are for full-text articles only. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

AFI.com (American Film Institute)
The AFI founded in 1967 is a national arts organization that trains filmmakers and preserves America's vanishing film heritage. AFI issues lists such as "100 Years, 100 Movies" and "100 Years of Film Scores".

Can I Stream.It?
Search across the most popular streaming, rental, and purchase services to find out where a movie or TV show is available. Use the reminder service if your movie or TV show isn't available yet. When it is, you'll get a notification! 

Feature Films: Free Movies from the Internet Archive
Several thousand public domain films are available for viewing and downloading. Search by title, subject/keyword, and sub-collection.

Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
Learn more about your favorite movie stars, films,and television shows. Learn about films that are coming to the big screen.

Moviefone
Find out what time a movie is playing, find reviews, and what's new on DVD.

MRQE (Movie Review Query Engine)
A searchable index of all published and available movie reviews, news, interviews, and other material associated with movies.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Jewish International Film Festival

Annual festival that brings "...outstanding independent films with Jewish themes to Western New York." Films are shown at several locations throughout the festival.

Buffalo Niagara Film Commission

The Commission serves as a conduit between filmmakers and the Buffalo-Niagara region. Permanent technical crew in the area can be listed in the database. Information for local permits and guidelines can be found here.

Buffalo Niagara International Film Festival

An annual filmmaker's festival that showcases films at various historical venues throughout the Buffalo-Niagara region.

Cultivate Cinema Circle

An emerging screening series that aims to help foster a healthy and fervent film culture in the Buffalo area.  Screenings are held monthly with occasional special events.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.  

Documentary Films
Feature Films 
Motion Picture Actors and Actresses
Motion Pictures

 

 

 

Category-Term: