12/12/17 Bookmobile Colden stop is Cancelled
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Music

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

African American History Online
Find in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history. Images and videos are included.  For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number. 

Biography in Context
This source includes biographies, magazine articles, and web sites. Gale resources include: Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, Contemporary Musicians, and International Dictionary of Opera.  For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.  Virtual Tour

Freegal
Download 5 songs per week from SONY Music Entertainment.  From classical to pop, the hottest artists are available!  Hundreds of songs are added each week! 

MasterFILE Premier
Billboard (full text 1994+) and Rolling Stone (full-text 1990+) are two examples of  music magazines that are included in this resource. You may also search an artist's name or a musical style to find articles from other magazine titles.  For use at any library or from home with a valid Buffalo & Erie County Public Library card number.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites 

allmusic
Styles range from commercially popular to the obscure. Albums and artists are critiqued within the context of their own genres - from opera to garage rock to traditional country. Facts, details, influences, are discussed. 

American Musicological Society
A comprehensive, categorized collection of links of interest to musicians compiled by the American Musicological Society.

IMSLP / Petrucci Music Library
Free public domain sheet music library, containing close to 40,000 scores (some of which include orchestral parts). Created by the International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP).

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services.

Library of Congress:  Recorded Sound Reference Center
Access provided to a portion of the LOC audio collections : Recorded Sound, Audio Collections, American Memory, and Performing Arts.

 

Community and Local Links

Blues Society of WNY
Dedicated to promoting blues music in WNY. Check the calendar for live events.

Buffalo Music Hall of Fame
Honoring the musical talent of WNY.

Buffalo Niagara: American Masters*American Treasures:
(The Official Travel Source for Buffalo & Niagara Falls)
Includes links for theater and performing arts, events and festivals.

Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra 
The official site of the Grammy award winning orchestra that has been in existence since 1935.

Shea's Performing Arts Center
A theater for touring Broadway musicals and special events in Buffalo, New York.

WNY Music
Local music and musicians, music discussions, events and forums.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Classical Music
Composers
Country Music
Jazz
Music Appreciation
Music History
Music Instruction
Music Theory
Popular Music
Rock Music
Singers
 

*Song titles are best searched in the Library's Catalog by using quotation marks in a keyword search. For example, "I still haven't found what I'm looking for".

Category-Term: