Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Native American Heritage

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Ancestry Library
A genealogical and historical research tool that provides access to city directories, U.S. Federal Census records between 1790 and 1930, immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records. It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical records.  For use at any library. This database cannot be accessed remotely.  Virtual Tour

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.  Virtual Tour

History Reference Center 
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos.  Virtual Tour

HeritageQuest Online
U.S. Federal census records from 1790-1930, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, and genealogical and local history serials from the Periodical Source Index (PERSI).  It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical information.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

National Archives and Records Administration, American Indians
The National Archives holds information about American Indians who maintained their ties to Federally-recognized Tribes (1830-1970). Limited records are available online.

National Congress of American Indians
Founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.

National Museum of the American Indian 
The National Museum of the American Indian is a museum dedicated to the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of the native peoples of the Western Hemisphere.

Native American Fish & Wildlife Society
A National Native Non-Profit Organization dedicated to the conservation, protection and enhancement of tribal Fish, wildlife, habitat and cultural resources.

Native American Heritage Month (November)
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the rich ancestry and traditions of Native Americans.

Native Languages of the Americas
This site is dedicated to the survival of Native American languages, particularly through the use of Internet technology. 

Native Voices: Native Peoples' Concepts of Health & Illness - Online Exhibition
Contains interviews with Native people telling how the wellness of individuals and communities has been affected by epidemics, government policies, and the inhibition of Native culture. Also features a timeline of Native history and information related to the interconnectedness of wellness, illness, and cultural life for Native Americans, Alaska Natives, and Native Hawaiians. Visitors will discover how Native concepts of health and illness are closely tied to the concepts of community, spirit, and the land.

 

Community and Local Links 

Cayuga Nation
The Cayuga Nation has a rich history of successes and challenges, with a culture that will endure for future generations.  

Native American Community Services of Erie & Niagara Counties (NACS) 
Features a cultural resource library, activities, workforce development, family services and more

New York State Native American Services
The Office of Children and Family Services Native American’s Services (formerly known as the Bureau of Indian Affairs) responds to the needs of Indian Nations and their members both on reservations and in the state's other communities.

Seneca-Iroquois National Museum
Information on museum and the history/culture of the Seneca and Iroquois. Located in Salamanca, New York.

Seneca Nation of Indians
The Seneca Nation continues to support its own people and surrounding communities with a variety of cultural, educational and economic efforts. Their rich heritage is evident in the arts, dance, music, crafts and foods that visitors are invited to experience.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Iroquois 
Native American Art
Native American Cooking
Native American Folklore and Mythology
Native American Genealogy
Native American History
Native American Literature and Poetry
Native American Music 
Native American Religions and Traditions
Seneca