Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Paleontology

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


 

Databases

Academic Onefile
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Virtual Tour

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover". Paleontology articles can be found in Air & Space, The Atlantic, Newsweek International, Popular Science, Science Illustrated, Science News, Slate (USA) and Smithsonian. 

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents. Virtual Tour

Science in Context
For those seeking information on today's most significant science topics. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

American Museum & Natural History: Division of Paleontology
The AMNH Paleontology collections contain an estimated 4.75 million specimens. They are divided into four collection units: Fossil Amphibians, Reptiles, and Birds (FARB); Fossil FishFossil Invertebrates; and Fossil Mammals.

Paleontological Research Institution
Located in Ithaca, New York the museum’s 8,000-square-foot permanent exhibition takes visitors on a journey through 4.5 billion years of history, from the Earth’s origin to the present day. Through hands-on, visual exhibitions and outreach, the Museum of the Earth encourages critical thinking about life on Earth in the past and today, and how our species is affecting the natural world.

The Paleontological Society
International organization devoted exclusively to the advancement of the science of paleontology through the dissemination of research by publication and more.

The Paleontology Portal
Shows photos of fossils of different types. Browse by location, time period or type.

PLoS ONE: The Paleontology Collection
This collection represents those articles published in PLoS ONE on the general topic of paleontology (the study of fossils and of life forms that existed in past geological periods). Articles are presented in order of publication date and new articles will be added to the Paleontology Collection as they are published.

ScienceDaily: Paleontology News
Read about the latest discoveries in the fossil record including theories on why the dinosaurs went extinct and more.

U.S. Bureau of Land Management – Paleontological Resources
The Bureau of Land Managment manages, preserves, and protects paleontological resources on public land using scientific principles and expertise.
 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Museum of Science
The Rethink Extinct exhibit takes you on a journey through time, starting in the Paleozoic Era 542 million years ago, to explore the past – and the future – of life on Earth. Discover the tools and processes paleontologists use today to answer these and other crucial questions to reveal the history of our planet. 

Niagara Gorge Discovery Center
The Niagara Gorge Discovery Center showcases the natural and local history of Niagara Falls and the Niagara Gorge.

Penn Dixie Paleontological and Outdoor Education Center
Provides geological activities such as searching for fossils and on site tours for schools.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Paleontology - Children's Nonfiction
Fossil Collection & Preservation
Paleobiology
Paleoecology
Paleontology