Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Parenting

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover". Access to past issues of Baby Talk, Parenting, Parenting School Years and current issues of Working Mother. Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports  
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present. Search for various children's products for safety ratings, prices, and more.  Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Article access to Babytalk, Christian Parenting Today, Family Circle, Mother & Baby, Mothering, Parenting, Today's Parent, Working Mother and more. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

Novelist K-8
NoveList K-8 Plus is a comprehensive reading resource for fiction and nonfiction. It will help young readers answer the question of what to read next. 

 

Websites

Family Education
Parenting information with educational printables, games, activities for kids, child development tools, parenting ideas, advice and more.

InfoAboutKids
A web resource center for behavioral science-based information on children, youth and families developed by leaders of seven divisions of the American Psychological Association.

Household Products Database
Health & safety information on houehold products - Learn more about what's in these products, about potential health effects, and about safety and handling.

New York State Division of Childcare Services
Search for child care programs and learn about different options.

Parenting.com
Community, recipes, parent-tested gear, photo galleries of your kids, parenting tips you can't live without. 

Parenting from Medline Plus
Parenting tips, parents' survival guides, dos, don'ts, shoulds and shouldn'ts from the National Library of Medicine.

Parents Place
Comprehensive list from the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library system for various parenting topics.

PBS for Parents
Information for parents and educational games for children. Get birthday party & craft ideas, learn about child development and much more.

Safecar.gov - Parents Central
Information and resources to keep children safe on the road, including car seat safety, teenage driving, and vehicle safety

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Moms
A collaborative blog written by moms, for moms, Buffalo Moms is the modern mother’s guide to Buffalo and Western New York.

The Care Connection Lactation & Wellness Center
Certified Medula nursing center, with classes (many covered under insurance), Mom's morning out get-togethers and private lactation consultations.

Child Care Resource Network
CCRN is a nonprofit 501 (c)(3) organization located in Buffalo, New York, that works to help families find child care, educate and empower child care providers, and advocate for the children of Erie County and Western New York.

Durham's Central City Baby Café
Baby Cafés are free resources for pregnant and breastfeeding mothers, offering: support from specifically-trained staff, opportunities to share experiences & make friends, refreshments, comfortable seating, and open-forum discussions - located at 200 E. Eagle Street, Buffalo, New York, 14204

Early Childhood Direction Center
The ECDC provides free information, referral, technical assistance and support to families, professionals, and community agencies concerned with children birth to five with suspected or diagnosed delays or disabilities. The Early Childhood Direction Center also provides assistance to early childhood programs to improve options and opportunities for preschool children with developmental delays or disabilities served in typical early childhood settings.

Erie County Department of Health - Maternal and Child Health
Offers a variety of programs to promote the health and well-being of women and children. The Department of Health also links residents with other services available throughout the county.

Erie County Early Intervention Program
Resource for any child from birth to age three with a developmental delay, disability or condition that affects development that may need help.

EPIC (Every Person Influences Children)
Evidence-based parent education program developed to make parenting a positive experience and prepare children for school success by targeting three key areas: parenting skills, health and wellness, and literacy/language development.

Fun 4 Kids
Comprehensive resource for family activities in the Buffalo and WNY area. Browse activities by location, holiday, indoor events and check out reviews as well.

Gentle Parenting of WNY
Seeks to assist parents in fostering nurturing relationships with their children.

Help Me Grow WNY
Enables young children to thrive by: linking families and caregivers to information and community resources on child development

Kids Out and About
Online resource for kids and family activities/attractions in WNY

The Parent Network of WNY
A resource for parents of children with special needs.

Parenting Programs - Catholic Charities
Family and parent resources which include training, education, support and home based service.

Planned Parenthood – Western New York
Locally governed, private, not-for-profit health care agency that has served the community since the 1930s. Planned Parenthood provides a wide range of reproductive health care, counseling, education and advocacy services.

Pregnancy & Parenting Resources in Erie County
A program of 211 Western New York that contains a variety of resources to assistance programs, health information, and much more

Read to Succeed Buffalo
Compilation of links to tips and ideas to help you prepare a child for school and for a lifetime of reading.

WNY Family Magazine
Western New York Family Magazine is a Buffalo/Niagara region resource for parenting information, events and activities for children.

Directory of local recreation departments, leisure services and youth bureaus

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Adoption
Baby & Toddler Food Recipes
Baby Names
Discipline
Divorce & Separation
Home Schooling
Learning
Parenting
Parenting (Special Needs)
Pediatric Health
Physical Fitness
Pregnancy
Recipes for Kids
Schools
Single Parenting

Category-Term: