Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Personal Finance

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Business Insights:  Essentials
Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. It brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports  
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present.  Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

Mergent Online
This product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with financials and annual reports for domestic and international companies.

Morningstar
Identify stocks or mutual funds to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings, or see how your investments fit together with this investment tool. Learn how to screen stocks and mutual funds with tutorials from this database.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

CNN Money
News and advice on retirement planning, college saving, taxes, mortgages, autos, real estate and investing.

Financial Calculators
Various "calculators" are available to compare prices and determine interest rates, percentages, daily savings & loan payments.  

Forbes Finance
Get financial advice, investing ideas, access to newsletters and other information.

Kiplinger
Trusted personal finance advice, business forecasting, investing advice, and financial management tools.

Mint.com
Free personal finance software to assist you to manage your money, financial planning, and budget planning tools.

Personal Finance
Resources for students and the public from the Federal Reserve

U.S. News & World Report - Personal Finance
Featuring sections on credit cards, investing and frugal shopping

Yahoo!Finance
Personal finance calculators, advice, and guides.

 

Community and Local Links 

Buffalo Business First
Contains a directory of various business that can assist with personal finance endeavors.

Buffalo News Business
The business section of the Buffalo News online, containing local, national, and international news regarding finance.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Estate Planning
Financial Security
Investing
Mutual Funds
Personal Budgets
Personal Finance
Retirement
Stocks & Dividends