12/12/17 Bookmobile Colden stop and Cultural Literacy Event at J.T. Waugh Elementary are cancelled.
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Pets

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.   Virtual Tour

 

Websites

American Kennel Club
Offers information on dog breeds, competition events, club search for training and services, dog ownership and registration.

Animal Planet
Learn more about pets (with a focus on cats & dogs) with videos and articles.

Pet Care
Includes sections on animal health, pet loss, buying a pet, animal safety and veterinarian information. Maintained by the American Veterinary Medical Association.

Pet Health: MedlinePlus
Contains information related to treatment, health prevention, therapies, news & journal articles and more.

International Cat Association
Information on different cat breeds, cat health, shows and adoption.

Petfinder
Learn about different types and breeds of pets and how to choose the right pet for you. Then search for adoptable pets in your area.

Selecting Safe Pets for Kids
Information from kidshealth.org 

WebVet
Veterinarian approved information on pet health and care. 

 

Community and Local Links

Barkyard
Visitors can enjoy a picturesque view of Buffalo’s waterfront and skyline, while dogs can run free within over 70,000 square feet of fully fenced off-leash area. Small dogs can enjoy their own separate area—all day, every day! The Barkyard is handicap-accessible, and features a double-gated sally port, lighting, running water, as well as seating and shelter.

Buffalo C.A.R.E.S.
All breed, volunteer driven, 501(c)(3) non-profit, incorporated organization dedicated primarily, but not limited to, the facilitation of placement of homeless animals in Buffalo, NY & surrounding area shelters.

Buffalo Paws and Claws
Foster based animal rescue and shelter who's mission is to provide a comfortable home for all domesticated pets. 

City of Buffalo Animal Shelter
General information, adoptable pets, adoption forms and policies, and the Paw Print newsletter.

HEART
Animal rescue and adoption team - all-volunteer, non-profit, no-kill organization whose main objective is to alleviate the suffering of neglected, injured, orphaned, sick or abused animals in Western New York. Search for adoptable pets.

Pets Alive (formerly Buffalo Humane)
Helping one animal at a time. Contains a list of area adoption organizations.

Pets and Animals in WNY
Internet Guide to pet related websites in Western New York, including veterinarians, training and obedience, supplies, rescue and more.

SPCA Serving Erie County
Information on adoptions, rescues, training and education programs.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Aquariums
Birds
Cats
Dogs
Ferrets
Hamsters
Health 
Pets
Reptiles
Training