Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Photography

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Consumer Reports
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present.  Virtual Tour

Consumer Reports Buying Guide
A product-test and consumer advisory publication. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products. Also examines health, money management etc.

General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.  There are articles from magazines such as American Photo, The Artist's Magazine, Digital Video Magazine, Petersen's Photographic, Photo District News, Photo Life, Popular Photography, Smart Photography and more. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.   Virtual Tour

MasterFile Premier
Get access to the EBSCO Image collection containing over 107,000 photos, maps & flags.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites  

Digital Camera World
Tutorials, reviews, SLR photography guides, photo ideas, and more.

Digital Photography Review
A comprehensive website of digital camera specs by make and model, product reviews, articles, industry news, a useful glossary of terms, and tutorials.

FLICKR.com
Create a free account and easily share your photos with the world.

FotoFlexer
Online photo editor that can remove blemishes, change skin/hair color, morph photos and more! Works with photos from Facebook, Flickr, Myspace, Photobucket, and Picasa.

morgueFile
Free photo archive with high resolution images

National Geographic Photo Tips
Contains tips from experts, photo samples and videos

Photobucket
Photobucket offers image hosting, free photo sharing and video sharing. Upload photos, host videos, and share them with friends and family.

PHOTO.net
An online community with a peer-to-peer educational system for people who want to become better photographers, this site provides members with their own gallery and moderated forums.

pixabay
High quality photos, illustrations, and vector graphics. Free for commercial use. No attribution required.

Pixlr
Pixlr provides free Photo-editing tools that you can use from inside your browser (with no application to download).  

Popular Photography
Home to Popular Photography magazine this site includes reviews, buying guides, tips, galleries, blogs, forums, contests, and workshops.

Shutterbug
For photo enthusiasts and working professionals. Provides classifieds, equipment reviews, industry updates, product previews, test reports, tips, links, and how-to projects.

 

Community and Local Links

Allentown Art Festival
Thousands of art patrons visit the Festival to enjoy the beauty of Buffalo's weather in June, the charm and uniqueness of the Allentown area and the quality of the art, crafts and photographs presented by exhibitors.

American Society of Media Photographers
The Western New York chapter of ASMP covers the geographically and creatively diverse WNY region, including Buffalo, Rochester, and Syracuse. The site has a search feature to locate photographic professionals in the region and provides photographers unique resources and networking opportunities. 

Burchfield Penney Art Center
A museum dedicated to the art and artists of Western New York - including famed American watercolor artist Charles E. Burchfield. The museum is located on Elmwood Ave. on the campus of Buffalo State.

Buffalo Arts Studio
Buffalo Arts Studio (BAS) is a not-for-profit arts organization whose mission is to provide affordable studio space and regular public exposure for regional, national, and international artists through exhibitions, and to enrich the community with art classes, mural programs, and public art.

Elmwood Avenue Festival of the Arts
Information on this popular WNY festival where regional artists; musicians; photographers; crafts people and community organizations get together to present their work and foster education of the arts.

Niagara Frontier Regional Camera Clubs (NFRCC) 
Niagara Frontier Regional Camera Clubs (NFRCC) are made up of 12 individual camera and photography clubs, with some of those clubs belonging to the Canadian Association of Photographic Arts (CAPA) and/or the Photographic Society of America (PSA). The NFRCC promotes interest in various photographic media throughout the Niagara Frontier region through education, tutorials, promoting speakers and encouraging participation in photographic salons and exhibitions.

Science Museum Camera Club
Visitors to the group are welcome and membership requires a fee. Feedback, education, hands on activities, and field trips help members to achieve photographic goals.

UB Art Galleries
The University at Buffalo provides students and the community year-round exhibitions that feature local and visiting artists.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Digital Cameras
Digital Moviemaking
Digital Photography
Digital SLR Photography
Fashion Photography
General Photography
Landscape Photography
Nature Photography
Pet Photography
Photography Business
Photography History
Photography of Infants
Photojournalism
Portrait Photography
Travel Photography
Wedding Photography
Wildlife Photography