Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Physics

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines covers U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from popular magazines. Search the magazines or read them "cover to cover". Physics articles can be found in Air & SpaceThe Atlantic, The New Republic, National Review, Newsweek, Popular Science, Science Illustrated, Science News, Slate (USA) and SmithsonianVirtual Tour

General Science Collection
A customized selection of journals that feature a wide range of general science topics.  

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents.  Virtual Tour

Science in Context
For those seeking information on today's most significant science topics. Virtual Tour

 

Websites

American Institute of Physics
Gateway for news, jobs, and other physics resources. AIP is a leading STM publisher of research journals, proceedings and other scientific publications.

Institute of Physics
Professional body actively working to promote developments in physics. Includes news, journals, author and referee services, education, jobs and conference.

Khan Academy: Physics
Join a global classroom online and take free lessons. All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years. 

Nobel Prize for Physics
Awarded annually by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Physics Central
The outreach site of the members of The American Physical Society. Find out how physics is part of your world, ask questions on how things work, and see physics in action!

The Physics Classroom
The Physics Classroom is an online interactive tutorial of basic physics concepts. The lessons use an easy-to-understand language to present common physics.

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Museum of Science
Dedicated to the study and interpretation of the natural and physical sciences, the Buffalo Museum of Science's extensive collections and artifacts represent all facets of the natural world with an emphasis on Western New York as well as man-made objects spanning the globe. Anchoring Buffalo's East Side in Olmsted-designed Martin Luther King, Jr. Park since 1929, the museum presents a wide variety of programs and services for children, teachers, families, adults and community organizations throughout the year.

Explore & More Children's Museum
Spark a child’s creativity, curiosity & imagination with hands on exhibits at Explore and More.

SUNY Buffalo State Physics Department
The study of physics provides an overview of the basic laws of nature and the science of matter and energy. Undergraduate students work closely with experienced faculty and participate in hands-on experiments, labs, and tutorials to earn firsthand knowledge of this course of study

University at Buffalo Physics Department
Cutting-edge interdisciplinary research programs in new materials, nanoscience, quantum devices, biomolecular physics, complex systems, and more.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Astrophysics
History of Physics
Isaac Newton
Physics
Physics Study Guides