Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Polish Heritage

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version


 

 

Databases

Ancestry Library
A genealogical and historical research tool that provides access to city directories, U.S. Federal Census records between 1790 and 1930, immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records. It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical records.  For use at any library.  Virtual Tour

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.  Virtual Tour

HeritageQuest Online
U.S. Federal census records from 1790-1930, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, city directories, land and probate records, birth, marriage and death records, and genealogical and local history serials from the Periodical Source Index (PERSI).  It includes resources for Buffalo & Erie County historical information.  Virtual Tour

History Reference Center
The History Reference Center database features reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books from leading history publishers.  This resource also includes history periodicals, historical documents, biographies, historical photos and maps, and historical videos. Virtual Tour

Pronunciator  
Pronunciator is a language resource database offering instruction for beginner, intermediate and advanced students in 80 foreign languages. It also offers English instruction for speakers of 50 foreign languages including Arabic, Bengali, Nepali, Somali, Spanish and Vietnamese. 

 

Websites

Polish American Historical Association
The Polish American Historical Association (PAHA) promotes the research and dissemination of scholarly materials focused on Polish American history and culture.  The PAHA’s resource page features indexed links to Polish American organizations, archival sites, author pages, discussion forums, and tourist information centers.

Polish American Journal
The Polish American Journal is dedicated to preservation, promotion, and the continuance of Polish American culture. Featured on this site is a list of "100 things every Polish American should do".

Polish Falcons of America
For nearly 125 years, the Polish Falcons of America has provided for the physical, social and financial welfare of its members. 

 

Community and Local Links

Am-Pol Eagle
The official newspaper of Western New York's Polish comunity.

Polish American History of Western New York
This site assembles information from a variety of esteemed published sources in order to provide a detailed account of the history of Polish Americans in Western New York.

The Polish Genealogical Society of New York State
The Polish Genealogical Society of New York provides resources to assist indivuals in pursuit of their Polish Ancestory. 

Polish Union of America: Buffalo and Erie County
This site provides a thorough directory of Polish American institutions and recreational attractions in Western New York. 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

History of Poland
Polish-American History 
Polish Art
Polish Cooking
Polish Literature
Polish Poetry
Polish Music