12/12/17 Bookmobile Colden stop and Cultural Literacy Event at J.T. Waugh Elementary are cancelled.
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Small Business

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Databases 

Business Insights:  Essentials
Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. It brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.  Virtual Tour

ReferenceUSA Business
Reference USA includes 24 million nationwide business listings searchable by name, location, line of business, size and other details. This database is a goldmine for the entrepreneur! Collect industry information, compile lists of competitors, customers, and potential partners.   Virtual Tour

ReferenceUSA U.S. Standard White Pages
ReferenceUSA U.S. Standard White Pages is compiled from more than 3,900 white page telephone directories. Each listing appears in the database exactly as it appears in the phone book. It does not include unlisted numbers. Information is available eight to twelve weeks after appearing in the phone book, and changes of address are revised on a monthly basis. Each residential listing also contains information from the most recent U. S. census, including median household income, median home value, latitude / longitude, and percentage of owner-occupied housing. 

Small Business Resource Center
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.  Virtual Tour

 

Websites

American FactFinder
American FactFinder is an interactive, searchable database from the US Census Bureau that is used to find population, housing, and business statistics. Information is culled from several surveys and censuses that are conducted at various times. American FactFinder allows you to view, print, and/or download a variety of data.

U.S. Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics
B.L.S. is is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. Entrepreneurs can use this site to research an industry and identify its Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) codes. SIC is a system for identifying industries by a four digit code. NAICS uses six digits to identify industries. NAICS is slowly replacing older SIC codes.  Finding these codes, which are assigned by the Department of Labor, is the first step to defining which industries you want to pursue.  To find out which numbers represent your business try the Department of labor’s website

Bplans.com
Free access to example business plans and articles providing start up and management information to the small business owner.

Bizstats
BizStats is the leading free online source for small business statistics. BizStats collects, analyzes, edits and adds value to public data and delivers it without cost in an easy-to-read, easy-to-understand format. 

Business Permit Assistance
Resource that helps prospective business owners determine the New York State permits and licenses they would need to operate a business in New York. The Business Permits Assistance program is managed by the New York State Office of the Chief Information Officer and the New York State Office for Technology. Empire State Development will be assisting site developers obtain Build Now/ Shovel Ready certification. For more information on rulemaking activities please visit the Department of State's Division of Administrative Rules homepage.

Google for Entrepreneurs
Partners with start-up communities to help entrepreneurs learn, connect, and create companies. 125 countries are part of this initiative.

IRS.gov Small Business/Self Employed
As a new business owner, you need to know your federal tax responsibilities. The IRS provides links to basic federal tax information for people who are starting a business. It also provides information to assist in making basic business decisions.

Small Business Administration
Official starting point for resources and programs offered by the SBA. Begin with Starting Your Business, Financing Your Business, and Expanding Your Business. Includes links to most frequently asked start-up questions (FAQs), informative articles, a start-up kit, and locations of Small Business Development Centers throughout the U.S. BusinessLINC ("Learning, Information, Networking, Collaboration") site contains business plans and a mentor’s network.

 

Community and Local Links 

The Buffalo Niagara Partnership
The Buffalo Niagara Partnership provides strategic support for companies in Erie County through business development programs like the Young Professionals Group, Buffalo Niagara 360 and the Business Intelligence Experts, The partnership can help entrepreneurs  make decisions about expanding their marketplace or business, breaking into a new market with products and services, or accessing employer information in target industry sectors.

Canisius College Women's Business Center
Western New York's most comprehensive resource for businesses and professional women. The Women's Business Center (WBC)  provides real-world expertise to help businesses grow step-by-step. The WBC exists solely to help entrepreneurs gain practical knowledge, fortify critical skills, make important connections, and power up their ability to succeed.

Erie County Clerk’s Office
Your local starting point on how to start and register your business in Erie County. The Erie County Clerk's Office also provides a very helpful brochure for entrepreneurs:  "Starting your New Business" 

Gaebler Ventures Entrepreneurial Resources in New York
Gaebler Ventures is a business incubator and holding company that develops and nurtures companies that are shaping the future. With an emphasis on seed-stage and early-stage investments, the Chicago-based partnership has invested in companies since 1999 and has established numerous innovative and market-leading enterprises.

Invest Buffalo Niagara
Small business start-up resources including a link to a searchable database for public incentive programs.  Demographic and consumer expenditure surveys for the 8 counties of Western New York are also available. 

NYS Loves Small Business
New York States clearinghouse of information related to starting and running a business.

NYS Tax Page
In addition to the federal tax obligations NYS has its own requirements and like the Federal level the NYS provides extensive web resources for the starting or established business owner.

NYS Tax Page for Starting a  Business

SCORE
SCORE "Counselors to America's Small Business" is America's premier source of free & confidential small business advice for entrepreneurs. The SCORE organization is a resource partner with the U.S. Small Business Administration. It is dedicated to aiding in the formation, growth and success of small business nationwide. The organization offers counseling and workshops to business owners.

Small Business Development Center of Buffalo
The Office of Small Business Development Centers (SBDC) provides management assistance to current and prospective small business owners. SBDCs offer one-stop assistance to individuals and small businesses by providing a wide variety of information and guidance in central and easily accessible branch locations. The program is a cooperative effort of the private sector, educators, and federal, state and local governments. It is an integral component of Entrepreneurial Development's network of training and counseling services.   

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Business Planning
Entrepreneurship
New Business Enterprises
Small Business Accounting
Small Business Management
Small Business Taxes
Success in Business

 

 

Category-Term: