12/12/17 Bookmobile Colden stop is Cancelled
Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Sociology

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases

Academic Onefile
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Sociology articles may be from The American Journal of Sociology, American Sociologist, Canadian Review of Sociology, Current Sociology, Health Sociology ReviewJournal of Sociology, and Sociological PerspectivesVirtual Tour

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.   Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for 1,935 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents. Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints.  Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.  Virtual Tour 

 

 

Websites

American Sociological Association
Serving sociologists in their work, advancing sociology as a science and profession, and promoting the contributions and use of sociology to society. 

Dead Sociologists Index
Major figures in classical sociological theory.

Gallup
Gallup has studied human nature and behavior for more than 70 years. Gallup's reputation for delivering relevant, timely, and visionary research on what people around the world think and feel is the cornerstone of the organization.

International Sociological Association
International Sociological Association (ISA), a non-profit association for scientific purposes in the field of sociology and social sciences.

Public Agenda
Provides unbiased and unparalleled research that bridges the gap between American leaders and what the public really thinks about issues ranging from education to foreign policy to immigration to religion and civility in American life.

Socioweb
Independent Guide to Sociological Resources on the Internet.

The Socjournal
Aims to bring sociology to the world by providing blog space, regular columns, commentary, pedagogical resources, and academic reports designed to popularize and disseminate the fascinating world of sociological research.

 

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo State - Sociology Department
Sociology, the study of human society and its institutions, problems, relations, and organization, provides students with exciting areas of study and sets its graduates on the path to interesting and rewarding employment opportunities.

Canisius College - Sociology Department
Sociology majors at Canisius learn to analyze the world with knowledge of the latest issues in social theory and research.  This is enhanced through a strong service-learning centered curriculum – one where students go out into the community to participate in volunteer activities as part of their coursework. 

D'Youville College - Sociology Department
Prepares students to understand the relationships between individuals and social institutions, in order to develop solutions to social problems. 

University at Buffalo - Sociology Department
The department provides solid foundation in sociological theory and research methods and concentrates in the substantive areas of Family and the Life Course, Law and Society, Race and Ethnicity, and Urban and Community

 

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Political Sociology
Social Movements
Sociology
Urban Sociology