Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Sports

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

a baseball

 

Databases 

Biography in Context
Biography in Context is an online resource for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.  Virtual Tour

Buffalo News 
Full-text articles that include sports news, 1989 - present. Virtual Tour

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints.  Students of all levels will benefit from a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.  Virtual Tour 

 

Websites 

CBS Sports
Features live scoring and news for NFL football, MLB baseball, NBA basketball, NHL hockey, college basketball and football.  

CNN World Sports
CNN brings you sport headlines, video and news stories from around the world.

ESPN
ESPN.com provides comprehensive sports coverage that includes NFL, MLB, NBA, College Football, college basketball scores and news. 

MSG Networks
Comprehensive sports coverage of favorite New York teams

MSN Sports
Sports news, schedules, scores, states, photos and videos.

NBC Sports
Scores, schedules, standings, fantasy sports news and more.

Olympics
Official website of the Olympic Games. Find all past and future Olympics, Youth Olympics, sports, athletes, medals, results, IOC news, photos and videos.

Special Olympics
Special Olympics provides sports training and athletic competition - creating a new world of inclusion and community, where every single person is accepted and welcomed, regardless of ability or disability. Read biographies of athletes and coaches, read news articles, locate a local chapter, or volunteer.

Sports Illustrated
Sports news, scores, photos, columns and expert analysis from the world of sports including NFL, NBA, NHL, MLB, NASCAR, college basketball, and more.

Sports Illustrated for Kids
Sports news, games, cartoons, and contests for kids. 

Yahoo Sports
News, scores and fantasy games.
 

Sports Injuries Prevention & Safety
These links are not a substitute for medical advice. Please consult your personal healthcare provider.

Medline Plus 
Find articles from medical journals, magazines, and news regarding sports medicine and sports-related injuries.  Featured topics include sports fitnesssports injuriessports safety, and physical fitness exercises.  Directories of health organizations, a medical encyclopedia, and drugs & supplements can also be searched. 

National Center for Sports Safety
Promotes the importance of injury prevention and safety on all levels of the youth sports community through education and research.

Safe Kids Worldwide - Preventing Sports Injuries
Contains sports safety tips and fact sheets for families

STOP Sports Injuries
Campaign created by a coalition of organizations and corporations to help prevent overuse and trauma injuries in kids.  There are sports & injury specific resources, in addition to resources for parentshealthcare providers and coaches for sports injury prevention.    

 

Community and Local Links 

Sports News 

Bee Group Newspapers
A group of nine weekly community newspapers serving the suburbs of Buffalo, New York.

Buffalo News - Sports
The latest in local sports including professional, high school, and college news.

Spectrum News - Buffalo
See the latest sports headlines and updates from around Western New York.

WGR 550 Sports Radio
A comprehensive local sports resource with an audio vault, fan forum, videos, contests, and sports news local to Western New York.

WGRZ Sports
Contains Buffalo, Western New York, and National sports news.

WIVB Sports
Features professional, college, and high school sports in Western New York as well as top sports around the nation, in addition to videos.

WKBW Sports
The sports section features most viewed videos, sections on Western New York’s professional sports and national sports.

 

Professional Sports Teams

Buffalo Bandits
Official team site with lacrosse player roster and statistics, game schedule, ticket information, history, merchandise and message board.

Buffalo Beauts
Professional women's ice hockey team based in Buffalo, New York. It is one of the four charter franchises of the National Women's Hockey League (NWHL). The site contains player stats, game schedules, roster, videos and more.

Buffalo Bills
Official team site with audio and video clips, team news, depth charts, transactions, football statistics, and player profiles.

Buffalo Bisons
Official website of the minor league baseball team based in Buffalo, New York.

Buffalo Sabres
Get all the late breaking hockey information, ticket specials, scores, and more.

 

Organizations & Resources

Buffalo Golfer
The online guide to golf in western New York, northwest Pennsylvania, and southern Ontario.

Buffalo Triathalon Club
The goal of the BTC is to promote multisports (triathlon, duathlon, etc), and bring people together for training, racing, and fun.

Greater Buffalo Sports Hall of Fame
Honors athletes and those involved in western New York sports.

Ice Skating in Buffalo and WNY
List of ice skating locations from buffalo.kidsoutandabout.com in the Buffalo, Erie County and Niagara region.

Queen City Roller Girls
The Queen City Roller Girls started with three radical, free-thinking, free-wheeling women who love the smell of the rink and the feel of eight wheels under their feet.

Queen City Softball League
Buffalo NY’s gay and lesbian softball league that promotes relaxed and friendly sports competition to men and women of the community.  Primary focus is on slow-pitch softball, for all persons, with a special emphasis the gay and lesbian communities.

Skating Association for the Blind & Handicapped
SABAH’s mission is to challenge individuals with special needs and volunteer partners to experience the success, pride, freedom and joy of therapeutic ice-skating while achieving personal growth.

Sports & Fitness for Kids
Directory of local opportunities to help find an activity that kids will love from Buffalo Kids Out & About. 

Sports Facilities - Buffalo Niagara
From nationally recognized baseball and football stadiums, soccer fields and swimming pools to basketball courts and hockey rinks - find the facility that’s the best fit for you

Visit Buffalo Niagara - Sports & Recreation
Wide range of resources to indoor and outdoor activity venues

Western New York Amateur Hockey League
Provides standings, schedules, directions to arenas, coach listing, tournaments, and league information.

YMCA Buffalo Niagara
YMCA Buffalo Niagara is an inclusive association of people committed to a common effort to help individuals and families reach their fullest potential in terms of Spirit, Mind, and Body.  Led by volunteers, YMCA Buffalo Niagara has been able to assist tens of thousands of youth, families, and senior citizens.

For youth sports organizations, check local recreation departments and youth bureaus.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Baseball
Basketball
Boxing
Cycling
Dance (Instructional DVDs)
Figure Skating
Football
Golf
Gymnastics
Hockey
Lacrosse
Martial Arts
Running
Skiing
Snowboarding 
Soccer
Swimming
Tennis
Wrestling