Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Taxes

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

During tax season (late January - April), various libraries in the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library System may provide basic tax forms.  Forms that libraries do not have can be printed out for a fee.  Please note that library staff does not give tax advice and the following links are a guide to information.  Please consult a tax office or tax preparer for questions. 
 

Federal Forms

IRS Federal Forms 

Call 1-800-829-3676 to order IRS forms 
Five copies is the maximum for each instruction or publication ordered. One copy of the corresponding instruction is automatically included with your forms order.

Where to mail your Federal tax forms if you are a New York State Resident.

Extension Form 4868 - Federal (2016)

 

New York State Tax Forms to Download
Search by Form Number 
Past Forms By Year

Form IT-201 - NY Resident Income Tax Return (2016) -  Printable IT-201 form  (Instructions)
IT-201-D - Itemized Deductions (2016)

Order NYS forms via automated telephone service 518-457-5431
Forms take up to 2 weeks for delivery and you can order up to 5 forms.
TDD/TTY: If you have a hearing or speech impairment and have access to a Text Telephone (TTY), call (518) 485-5082

 
 
 

Tax Help

2017 Free Tax Preparation -  
IRS-certified accounting students from the UB School of Management will again provide free tax preparation services to individuals and families with annual incomes below $54,000. The initiative is being led by the UB chapter of Beta Alpha Psi, an international honors organization for accounting and finance students, with help from the UB Accounting Association.

AARP Tax-Aide Site Locator 
From February 1 through April 15th each year, the AARP Tax-Aide program offers free one-on-one counseling, as well as assistance on the telephone and internet to help individuals prepare basic tax forms, including the 1040, 1040A, 1040EZ and other standard schedules. You can search by zip code to find an AARP Tax-Aide site near you.

Federal Tax Offices - New York
IRS Taxpayer Assistance Centers are your source for personal tax help when you believe your tax issue cannot be handled online or by phone, and you want face-to-face assistance.  To locate the nearest Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) site, call 1-800-906-9887.

IRS Free Tax Preparation for Qualifying Taxpayers - City of Buffalo
Please note 'What to Bring' to a local VITA/TCE Site.

New State Department of Taxation and Finance - Contact Information
District offices no longer offer walk-in services.  However, the website provides an answer center, telephone numbers, a mailing address, and a link to check income tax refund status.

Tax Help - Local Libraries  

It is recommended that you call the library site listed to verify tax help hours and the type of tax help offered .

Central Library 
Free tax filing help from the NYS Department of Taxation and Finance at the Central Library until April 14th. Families and individuals who earned less than $60,000 last year can get free assistance digitally filing their federal and state income tax returns. Appointments are encouraged by calling 858-7132. Walk-in assistance is available on a first-come, first-served basis.  January 26th - February 18 and March 18th - April 13th:  Thursdays 11 AM - 5 PM and Saturdays 9:30 AM to 3 PM.

Dudley Library
The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance will offer free tax help on Wednesday February 15th, Wednesday March 22nd and Wednesday April 12th from 11 AM to 5 PM.

Eggertsville-Snyder Branch Library - Free tax help by certified preparers February 2nd through April 15th on Thursdays & Fridays, 12 noon to 3 PM and Saturdays 11 AM to 2 PM (closed Friday, April 14th.)  See the information flyer for details.

Kenmore Library  - AARP will provide free income tax preparation February 1st - April 12th on Mondays & Wednesdays, 10 AM - 1:30 PM (closed Monday, February 20th.)

Merriweather Library VITA will provide free tax assistance on Saturdays, February 4th through April 8th (except for February 18th) from 10 AM to 2 PM.

 
Riverside Library - Free tax preparation on Tuesdays starting January 31st from 2PM to 5 PM by appointment only.  Call 2-1-1.
 

Databases

Business Insights:  Essentials
Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. It brings together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Virtual Tour

Mergent Online
This product provides Internet-based access to the most detailed, accurate and comprehensive global company database available, with financials and annual reports for domestic and international companies. 

Morningstar
About Morningstar.com Identify stocks or mutual funds to meet your needs, research current or prospective holdings, or see how your investments fit together with this investment tool. Learn how to screen stocks and mutual funds with tutorials from this database.  Virtual Tour

USA.gov 
USA.gov offers easy, one-stop access to all online U.S. Federal Government resources. Users can browse information about money and taxes.
 

Websites

Affordable Care Act (ACA) Tax Provisions

CNN Money
The latest in tax law updates, news, forms & advice.

Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
The IRS is the US government agency responsible for tax collection and tax law enforcement. Contains downloadable forms and instructions.

New York State Department of Taxation and Finance
Corporate, personal, sales and other NYS tax and finance related information.  Also contains downloadable forms and instructions.

Yahoo!Finance
Tax articles, calculators, tools, and advice from Yahoo! Personal Finance. Includes tax tips, glossary, checklist, calendar, how-to guides, and more.

 

Community and Local Links 

Assessment and Taxation Department – City of Buffalo 
This department deals with city property tax, sewer rent bills, local assessment bills, tax sale certificates, and other tax notices.

Erie County Department of Real Property Tax Services
Contains tax rate history, auction & foreclosure information, forms, public notices, general tax & assessment information, and you can pay property taxes online.

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Accounting
Business Taxes 
Income Tax
Taxation
Tax History