Home

About the Library

 

Pay Fines Online
Federal Depository Library

Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Click on any topic listed below to find a guide containing websites, databases and books chosen by librarians.

You are here

Technology

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 

Databases 

Consumer Reports
Full text articles from Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present. 

General Onefile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.  Virtual Tour

MasterFILE Premier
Contains 1,935 full text periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for more than 300 reference books, 96,600 biographies, and 76,000 primary source documents. Virtual Tour

 

Websites 

Mashable
Provides news relating to social and digital media, technology, and web culture. Mashable now boasts 40 million page views per month, earning high marks among the tech and social media elite for early and consistent reporting on what’s what on the web.  Features a tech & gadgets section.

Popular Mechanics 
Popular Mechanics is a service magazine covering a variety of information on home improvement, automotive needs, electronics, computers, telecommunications and much more.

Popular Science  
Your ultimate online portal to the future. Popular Science reports on what's new and what's next in technology, science, gadgets, space, green tech and more. 

Technology Review
From MIT. Information on Emerging Technologies and their impact on business & society.

Wired
Get in-depth coverage of current and future trends in technology, and how they are shaping business, entertainment, communications, science and politics 

 

Community and Local Links

Buffalo Center for Arts and Technology
Inspires excellence and creativity and offers a culture of hope and purpose that transforms the lives of adults and high-school students.

EdTech Foundation of WNY
Group of volunteers who enrich the lives of children by improving access to modern computer technology. The Foundation sets-up and installs or configures reliable networks, computers, smartboards, servers and other types of technology for community centers, schools, or non-profits.

InfoTech Niagara
Trade association of Western New York's information technology industry, promoting technology through networking, education, recognition and career enrichment. 

Nextplex
Network and resources dedicated to the growing high-tech entrepreneurial community that exists in Buffalo, NY

 

Library Materials

Click on the following topics for a quick search in the Library's Catalog.

Technology
Green Technology
Creative Ability in Technology
Engineering
Science